Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-8
Public district
Boston, MA
Students enrolled: 657
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful and had the best teachers and principal. The"great schools" ratings doesn't seem accurate to me.

William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school, I really believe it's the best school in the entire Boston area, the Principal Ms.krakow is so wonderful and fair the students love her, my son had been going to this school for the last two years and has had the same teachers due to his program and they are amazing, he loves them. The rate of bullying is so low, the rule "zero"tolerance of bullying is exactly that in this school. They take this seriously and that is why the children are more respectful and if they aren't they learn to be by the end of the semester. I love this school so much. They are the Best and appreciated.


William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at the Ohrenberger since K2 & is now in the 6th grade. I pulled her from the school when she was in 1st grade because we moved but re-enrolled her when we moved back to the area. Attached to the school is the community center which offers, ballet, an after-school program & other programs. My daughter was introduces to the violin through the music matters program and has also played on the basketball team. The coach, Jesus is the greatest! They scored low on MCAS but I know for a fact that they are doing an excellent job teaching the students. Ms. Nash is the principle and she's doing a good job, considering she's also the principle for the Beethoven but i'd say the heart of the school is Jackie, the school secretary. Bottom line: GREAT school! 10 out of 10 is my rating!

William H Ohrenberger 4

Posted December 11, 2010
- a community member
Im a 6th grader at the William h. Orenberger school. I been going there for 2 years now. There now have a new Principal this is a really good school the teachers are so nice. I would tell anybody to put there kids in this school. The 6 grade teacher are the best of them all.

William H Ohrenberger 1

Posted August 20, 2010
- a community member
if i would describe this school in one word i would say just just just just total wackness......


William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted July 12, 2009
- a community member
I'm a former student from the Ohrenberger (now becoming a 7th grader at the O'Bryant) and my 4th grade year was better than 2nd and 3rd, but 5th was great (when Ms. Moore left and Mr. Zrike became principal. The teachers are great, the principal is great and involved, and the extracurricular activities are great. Art, computers, and gym are a few of them. They have a basketball team, and a very good Music class. On Fridays, they have a chorus and a 'Making Music Matters' program. It features a playground and a baseball field, and is in a friendly area. The last thing I will mention is recess. The recess field is huge and includes 4-Square, jump rope, and kickball - just to name a few. This school is amazing, and everybody should go if in the area. 10/10!

William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
when my son went to this school at first he thought it wasn't good but until he stayed there for awhile he loved the school.

William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted February 29, 2008
- a student
I'm a fifth grader (AWC), and I've been a student here for 3+ years. Most teachers are wonderful and the principal is just great. Principal Leadership - 4.5 Teacher Quality - BIG 5! Extracurricular Activities - 3.9 Parent Involvement - 3.5 Safety and Discipline - 4


William H Ohrenberger 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a student
this school is real nice. and everybody should go to this school. im a student at the ohrenberger school

William H Ohrenberger 4

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
My daughter began attending the Ohrenberger in the Fall of 2004 in the advanced work class. There are four schools in the West Zone that had the program. After visiting all, we chose the Ohrenberger because of: its size 500+/- students, could make transition to middle school and the exam schools easier; the facilities - auditorium, gym -- and the school sits on a large lot with a baseball field, basketball courts, playground and just open field adjacent to the Blue Hills; the Community Center is attached to the school and provides after school activities for the children including gymnastics, basketball, music lessons and a full-time staff and community worker who are wonderful with the kids; a multihandicapped program; multi-cultural environment. The teachers are dedicated to the students, the students are blossoming! Parent involvement is embraced. There is collaboration with the Museum of Science, City Stage Co, Berkeley College of Music... -Christine Bonardi

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William H Ohrenberger
175 West Boundary Road, Boston, MA  02132
(617) 635-8157
Last modified William H Ohrenberger is a Public school that serves grades 3-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William H Ohrenberger Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top