Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

German International School Boston

Private | PK-12 | 199 students

Bilingual Education, Cross-Grade Learning, Graduate with Abitur & MA Diploma

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Both my husband and I are German but both our kids were born here. Our older child has been going to the Vorschule (Kindergarten) for 8 months now and it has been a great experience for all of us. Her German has improved tremendously. Despite the less rigorous curriculum compared to public school Kindergarten, she is learning to read, write and do math but with a healthy dose of self-motivation while still being given ample time to follow her creativity and imagination. It is also great to have such a tight school community where parents and teachers support each other and parents can have an influence on the development of the school if they want to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

We are an American family and this is our 6th year at the GISB. We continue to be impressed by many facets of excellence at our school: the German language platform; multiculturalism; excellence, integrity, and resilience in the staff; rich learning in art, science, language, music, and ethics; cross-grade teaching; the generous after school program; etc. The list goes on. However, the reason we are passionate about our school is because it is much more than a school. It is a community with a shared set of spoken and unspoken values amidst which our children are growing up. It is a private school, but also a middle-class school. Achievement and contribution are valued over wealth and status. Parents chat in the parking lot! We buy baked goods on Friday mornings. School gatherings are family gatherings. Our children face academic and real-life challenges, and both are formative. The GISB school community supports the type of socialization and habit forming we want for our grade-schoolers, and the maturation and academic foundation we want for them in middle and high school. Our family is passionate about this type of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

Our children are attending the German International School and so far, we are very pleased with the academic program and the culture of the school. GISB is a unique school offering a bilingual education in German and English, and is one of only 140 "German Schools Abroad" that are supported by the German government. So far, our children are very happy at the school and are developing as self-reliant learners and confident individuals. The school has a close-knit parent community and there are plenty of opportunities to interact with other parents, teachers, and administrators through participation in social and academic events. At any given year, GISB students can represent over 15 nationalities, and our young children are already aware of cultural, religious, and ethnic diversities, and are being trained as global citizens. Like any other school, GISB will not fulfill the needs of every parent and every student, but it is a perfect school for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

We moved to Boston a year ago. Coming from Germany with experience in the rigid school system of Bavaria we were very pleased with the multi-cultural environment at GISB. Small class sizes where every kid gets a high level of attention and individualized support helped our teenager son to make a smooth transition within short time. Maybe more importantly, he quickly became part of the community and likes going to GISB a lot. We perceive the quality of teaching as very good. The kids have a tough schedule but are carefully guided. The approach of the school is exceptional and training is focused to grow kids with personality and skills that will help them to meet the challenges of a globalized world. Getting bi-lingual education and training in two additional languages is definitely a plus. Not to forget the Deutsches Abitur and the US High School Diploma. Of course there is always something you would like to improve. However, the community is strong, involved and committed and the cooperation with the school administration very close. In summary: We are very happy with the decision we made and would encourage everyone interested to have a closer look at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

This school has many issues with unaddressed bullying. Teachers, parents, and ultimately children do not care about the problem, as they only stay at GISB for a couple of years until they go back to Germany. I do not recommend this school if you have bright, sensitive children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

What attracts us are the high teaching standards, emphasis on independent and group learning, as well as the opportunity to obtain American and international diplomas. Beyond that, we want our children to grow up in a multicultural environment where they interact with innovative, cosmopolitan role models every day. The GISB delivers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Small classrooms, bilingual education, offers excellent after school programs, has very competitive tuition in the Boston area. My kids have been very happy there for over 4 years now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

We had our son for three years at the German International School. We never doubted about this decision and we would always send him to this school again. Our son was welcomed warmly, was easily integrated in his class, found lots of friends and felt really happy from the beginning on. Before he did not like school as much as at this time and even now (half a year later), he misses this school. Concerning the education at school we were also very happy. Most teachers worked a lot for the class and the school, were always willing to talk, to answer an email in very fast time. They really did a good job. Also everything else in school was organized better and better every year (it is still a young school! I can t imagine what it will be like in a few years . Always improving!!!). We miss the school and its community a lot. It is a nice small school with good education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

We enrolled our oldest daughter at the GISB six years ago, back then there were 74 students enrolled. Since then we have seen the student body grow twice its size, we have seen the school extend to 12th grade (the first DIAP - deutsche Internationale Abiturpruefung - is written these days), saw it awarded the title of an excellent German School abroad (exzellente deutsche Auslandsschule) by the Bund-Lander-Inspection and most important of all, we see our daughter, our son and now since last fall our little one thrive at this school. Not only academically, but also in terms of self confidence and social intelligence. The teachers are young and motivated, the principal does not only have visions but really pulls through with them and the atmosphere is always friendly and like a big family. Our kids love this school and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

The GISB is a wonderful bilingual school that responds to its community and delivers a challenging and broad curriculum with care. Our children have been at the school for five years now and enjoy every day. In fact, it is usual very difficult to get them to leave school at the end of the day because they enjoy every minute. The teachers are extremely dedicated to their work and deliver every day. The principal does done an excellent job of responding to the diverse community of highly educated professionals and their children who are active in making sure that their children get the most out of their school. I say this as a teacher at a nearby institution of higher learning. The curriculum follows in most respects a standard German curriculum. Our experience with mixed age class homeroom (which does not extend to most subject lessons) has been extremely positive despite our initial skepticism. We were later surprised to learn that this teaching model is more widespread than we realized and that some parents had themselves had experience with the model in the US as well. The kids love it, too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

We just moved into the Boston area and it wasn't any question about where our child is going to go to school especially after we looked at the school and met with the staff. The cooperation and community between parents and teachers concerning lessons, education and goals, individual care of the children is really exceptional - especially compared with schools in Germany. Our child is visiting the Vorschule and is already learning on the same level as in the first grade in Germany. The classes are small so that the teachers can concentrate on each child individually. The school received an award of excellence which we support to the full extent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

We enrolled our children recently in grade 4 and grade 5. We were previously at American schools, and we find the German school excellent. There is a balanced approach to children, allowing them to express themselves. Content wise it is excellent, but it clearly different from most American schools. We are veru happy there - the kids are alive with energy, are taught independence, but also have an appropriate level of demands on them academically. Parent involvement is high in terms of extramural activity, but in the classroom, it is the children who are responsible for their success, not the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2012

Our experience at the GISB was stressful and extremely negative. Our son s teacher was inexperienced with his age group, insecure and inconsistent, and was obviously dominated by the asocial and undisciplined children of her Entry Level classroom. There was no place for creativity. Focus was on drilling letters and numbers. Vacation homework did not include any English, which is a serious issue for multicultural families. Young and old children are left to themselves in the Afternoon School Program. One afternoon, a First Grader intentionally punched our son on the nose. No incident report and no disciplinary action followed up. This is simply unacceptable. Tolerating bullying is encouraging it. There are safer, less stressful and more multicultural ways to learn German in the Boston area. We do not recommend the GISB.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

As a parent of children who attended this school for many years i can attest to the quality of many of the teachers. Unfortunately this only gets you so far - when there are problems with teachers or with the curriculum (which is experimental, mixing grades even in the higher classes) the administration is unlikely to respond. We decided to remove our children after serious problems with certain teachers went unresolved year after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Two or more races 17% 3%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school School In Europe
International Schools
American Schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • BLI, Excellent International School Abroad by German Govern. (2012)
  • Transcontinental Classroom - 11-12 graders (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: jazz
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • English, Latin
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: french

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christian Nitschke
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (617) 783-2605

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Thuringer Teaching
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • English, Latin
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Drop-Off Lane
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Gymnastics
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Gymnastics
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club: jazz
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: french
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
280
Students typically come from these schools
School In Europe
International Schools
American Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$17000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

57 Holton Street
Boston, MA 02134
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 783-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT