Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


German International School Boston 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Both my husband and I are German but both our kids were born here. Our older child has been going to the Vorschule (Kindergarten) for 8 months now and it has been a great experience for all of us. Her German has improved tremendously. Despite the less rigorous curriculum compared to public school Kindergarten, she is learning to read, write and do math but with a healthy dose of self-motivation while still being given ample time to follow her creativity and imagination. It is also great to have such a tight school community where parents and teachers support each other and parents can have an influence on the development of the school if they want to.

German International School Boston 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
We are an American family and this is our 6th year at the GISB. We continue to be impressed by many facets of excellence at our school: the German language platform; multiculturalism; excellence, integrity, and resilience in the staff; rich learning in art, science, language, music, and ethics; cross-grade teaching; the generous after school program; etc. The list goes on. However, the reason we are passionate about our school is because it is much more than a school. It is a community with a shared set of spoken and unspoken values amidst which our children are growing up. It is a private school, but also a middle-class school. Achievement and contribution are valued over wealth and status. Parents chat in the parking lot! We buy baked goods on Friday mornings. School gatherings are family gatherings. Our children face academic and real-life challenges, and both are formative. The GISB school community supports the type of socialization and habit forming we want for our grade-schoolers, and the maturation and academic foundation we want for them in middle and high school. Our family is passionate about this type of education.


German International School Boston 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Our children are attending the German International School and so far, we are very pleased with the academic program and the culture of the school. GISB is a unique school offering a bilingual education in German and English, and is one of only 140 "German Schools Abroad" that are supported by the German government. So far, our children are very happy at the school and are developing as self-reliant learners and confident individuals. The school has a close-knit parent community and there are plenty of opportunities to interact with other parents, teachers, and administrators through participation in social and academic events. At any given year, GISB students can represent over 15 nationalities, and our young children are already aware of cultural, religious, and ethnic diversities, and are being trained as global citizens. Like any other school, GISB will not fulfill the needs of every parent and every student, but it is a perfect school for our family.

German International School Boston 4

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Boston a year ago. Coming from Germany with experience in the rigid school system of Bavaria we were very pleased with the multi-cultural environment at GISB. Small class sizes where every kid gets a high level of attention and individualized support helped our teenager son to make a smooth transition within short time. Maybe more importantly, he quickly became part of the community and likes going to GISB a lot. We perceive the quality of teaching as very good. The kids have a tough schedule but are carefully guided. The approach of the school is exceptional and training is focused to grow kids with personality and skills that will help them to meet the challenges of a globalized world. Getting bi-lingual education and training in two additional languages is definitely a plus. Not to forget the Deutsches Abitur and the US High School Diploma. Of course there is always something you would like to improve. However, the community is strong, involved and committed and the cooperation with the school administration very close. In summary: We are very happy with the decision we made and would encourage everyone interested to have a closer look at this school.

German International School Boston 1

Posted March 03, 2013
- a parent
This school has many issues with unaddressed bullying. Teachers, parents, and ultimately children do not care about the problem, as they only stay at GISB for a couple of years until they go back to Germany. I do not recommend this school if you have bright, sensitive children.


German International School Boston 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
What attracts us are the high teaching standards, emphasis on independent and group learning, as well as the opportunity to obtain American and international diplomas. Beyond that, we want our children to grow up in a multicultural environment where they interact with innovative, cosmopolitan role models every day. The GISB delivers.

German International School Boston 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Small classrooms, bilingual education, offers excellent after school programs, has very competitive tuition in the Boston area. My kids have been very happy there for over 4 years now!

German International School Boston 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
We had our son for three years at the German International School. We never doubted about this decision and we would always send him to this school again. Our son was welcomed warmly, was easily integrated in his class, found lots of friends and felt really happy from the beginning on. Before he did not like school as much as at this time and even now (half a year later), he misses this school. Concerning the education at school we were also very happy. Most teachers worked a lot for the class and the school, were always willing to talk, to answer an email in very fast time. They really did a good job. Also everything else in school was organized better and better every year (it is still a young school! I can t imagine what it will be like in a few years . Always improving!!!). We miss the school and its community a lot. It is a nice small school with good education!


German International School Boston 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
We enrolled our oldest daughter at the GISB six years ago, back then there were 74 students enrolled. Since then we have seen the student body grow twice its size, we have seen the school extend to 12th grade (the first DIAP - deutsche Internationale Abiturpruefung - is written these days), saw it awarded the title of an excellent German School abroad (exzellente deutsche Auslandsschule) by the Bund-Lander-Inspection and most important of all, we see our daughter, our son and now since last fall our little one thrive at this school. Not only academically, but also in terms of self confidence and social intelligence. The teachers are young and motivated, the principal does not only have visions but really pulls through with them and the atmosphere is always friendly and like a big family. Our kids love this school and so do we.

German International School Boston 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
The GISB is a wonderful bilingual school that responds to its community and delivers a challenging and broad curriculum with care. Our children have been at the school for five years now and enjoy every day. In fact, it is usual very difficult to get them to leave school at the end of the day because they enjoy every minute. The teachers are extremely dedicated to their work and deliver every day. The principal does done an excellent job of responding to the diverse community of highly educated professionals and their children who are active in making sure that their children get the most out of their school. I say this as a teacher at a nearby institution of higher learning. The curriculum follows in most respects a standard German curriculum. Our experience with mixed age class homeroom (which does not extend to most subject lessons) has been extremely positive despite our initial skepticism. We were later surprised to learn that this teaching model is more widespread than we realized and that some parents had themselves had experience with the model in the US as well. The kids love it, too

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

German International School Boston
57 Holton Street, Boston, MA  02134
(617) 783-2600
Last modified German International School Boston is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
German International School Boston Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.