Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fenway High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

I attended Fenway in the late 80's, just a few years after it was created. I loved that school! The people I met - both students and teachers- were amazing. I had studied at Boston Latin School and Newton South before the Fenway, and it was absolutely my favorite. Miss Schirmer and the other teachers (educators, really) cared about us as individuals and nurtured our strengths. I was able to take AP classes at local colleges: B.U. & Simmons. Then I got a full scholarship to B.U.! I credit my experience at the Fenway (okay, and some fairly good study habits). I will never forget my experience at the Fenway. It's a fantastic charter school. Just ask Jordan & Jonathan Knight of NKOTB ;) I'd say they did pretty well for themselves too.


Posted February 12, 2011

I absolutely adore this school! I can not imagine being anywhere else because nothing can compare. To be honest I have gotten use to seeing teachers working at the bare minimum because they have just given up. Which is why when I came to this school, and I saw how motivated the teachers are, it just blew my mind. Not only that, before I came to this school I use to sleep during class and still get straight A's, not anymore. I don't mean to brag but they really have some top quality kids, everyone has something great to offer to the classroom and their community. The only con here is that I don't think they have enough funding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2009

My duaghter attends Fenway and this is her second year and she has definetly come along way. She has always had good grades but now she feels that she really has to work harder to get them because her teachers are on her back like her shadow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

I have observed this amazing little school for many years. It continues to outshine even the exam schools in bosotn with the outcomes its students achieve. It's most recent graduating class has set a new standard for inner city excellence. The head of school and teachers are dedicated, hihgly qualified and effective.


Posted February 1, 2009

Well, being a junior at this school, I'd have to say that it is a wonderful play to send your kids. Although, the work is very difficult, it will reward them in their college lives and in the long run. I came here sophomore year and it upset me that they really do not have any elective since I was used to being able to choose my classes. That was big disappointment, but overall, the school is one to be admired. Another flaw, I'm sorry to say, is that we only have one floor of classes. BAA has a larger campus and even share the floor with us. Though, wer are allowed to go out at lunch. What I'm trying to say is that the school is one that I feel that should be around for more then the twenty-five years. Success if Fenway.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2008

Fenway High School is one of the most successful models of a urban public school. Besides being one of the highest-performing schools in Boston, I have personally witnessed the transformative ability of the school to take America's forgotten youth and turn them into confident, successful individuals who are not just productive members of society but feel a duty to give back.


Posted January 22, 2008

I am very impressed with Fenway high school and the dedication of the staff and the principal. My sons have transferred from one of the Boston exam schools to Fenway and i couldn't be happier with the change. Fenway offers students a chance to become more than just a number and the staff is very hands on and relates to the students on an individual basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female98%
Male91%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I95%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I84%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female60%
Male72%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title I64%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
38%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Students58%
Female70%
Male45%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

85%

Average SAT score

1242

Graduation rate

88%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 16%
Black 40% 8%
White 8% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 635-9204

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

174 Ipswich St
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617) 635-9911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Carter School
Boston, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT