Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harbor School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 256 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2011

I am a student. Teachers are rude. They do not welcome students comments. They are not willing to assist me when I have problems. When I get frustrated they do not allow me space to calm down. They get in my face and make me feel bad. I miss my old school because my teachers were strict but they were fair.


Posted August 30, 2010

My friend goes here. And he told me its good but not that good. so idk. im a 6th grader and he is a 8th grader so. ima see how ma year goes. not. i got a betta school to go to. LGF ALL DAII (LILLA G. FREDRICK PILOT.


Posted April 12, 2010

I find the teachers at The Harbor to be some of the most hard working people I have ever come across. They really make themselves available to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I do not find this school helpful. The teachers make plans to assist with children who are struggling but do not follow through on them. They will meet, meet, meet, but rarely put practical things in action. Furthermore, in all my dailings (at least 1/2 a dozen) with the secetary she is rude as if she doesn't know how to work with people!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

This school was AWESOME when I was going there. (2000-2002) 7th-8th grd. Wasnt there for 6th grade but they offered really good electives and had mandatory drama sessions. Location wise- well, its not that great but I know that I (didnt) wake up not wanting to go to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

i am a former graduate of The Harbor School (THS). I graduated in 2005. THS is a very good school to send your child to because your children will like it very much. THS has a very different way of teaching and a different way of learning. THS is a high school prep school and when i left the harbor school i was very ready for high school. some things that are good about the Harbor School are that the teachers are very friendly and the teachers are very willing to help your child our. another good thing about THS is your child will keep the same teacher and same class trough out the three years that he/she is there. alls i have to say about THS is that it is a very good school to send your child to, your child will learn alot from being there. also the school has very good after school activites. -Class of '05
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2006

Whatluck!My kids love this school and so do I! The teachers are openly caring and give their everything to inspire the students to aim for sucess. This school has a special mission and has changed my kids attitude toward education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
11%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
11%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
2%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Female48%
Male31%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners10%

Math

All Students31%
Female41%
Male25%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title I31%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners15%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female48%
Male31%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students12%
Female12%
Male13%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged7%
Title I12%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female64%
Male53%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I59%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students22%
Female20%
Male23%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I22%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students8%
Female9%
Male7%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I8%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 8%
Hispanic 20% 15%
White 6% 68%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 635-6367

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 Charles St
Boston, MA 02122
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 635-6365

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT