Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Boston Collegiate Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 31, 2016
- a student
It depended on the teacher. Some of the teachers had very high egos, but some teachers did have a lot of passion in the subjects that they taught.

Boston Collegiate Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 31, 2016
- a student
You'll have no life because you are given way too much homework and not doing the homework wasn't an option you had to do it or else you weren't going to pass the class.


Boston Collegiate Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a student
Only if you were considered a favorite student in the BCCS community if not, you didn't exist and you didn't matter.

Boston Collegiate Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a student
No school spirit-extremely lacking. The students treated each other terribly and that was considered normal.

Boston Collegiate Charter School 3

Posted August 23, 2015
- a community member
As a parent of a BCCS student my child entered this school from BPS the school is good but I have experienced the worse year this past school year with a teacher whom told me at every parent teacher conference that my child was at risk of failing her class and she did absolutely nothing to help my child. I've talked to the principal about why the teacher doesn't sign my child up for tutoring and I was told that she would be signed up but never was. So my baby was retained because she failed History by two points and writing by one or two points. I find it that they should've recommended summer academy.


Boston Collegiate Charter School 3

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
The only thing i disagree with BCCS policy is that if you fail 2 classes you get kept back! I think that is very unfair and it makes kids self asteem drop drastically! I noticed it in my child! I believe a lot of kids ends up dropping out because who want to be 18 in the 11th grade. some of the already have that disadvantage because they were born after september.They need to find a way to change that. Fail 2 classes go to summer school not get retained for a whole year! And tuturing and HW club i dont get the benefit of it...NOT FAIR !!

Boston Collegiate Charter School 2

Posted May 04, 2014
- a community member
BCCS is overrated, the teachers abuse their power over the students, creating a relatively prison like environment. Also definitely not a good environment for a child of color. They also do not care what college you are excepted in as long you get in. they don't push kids to strive for the best but to only meet the standards as much as they will try to tell you they don't. I got into an exam school and they managed to convince me to stay, as well as my parents, by saying I'd get a scholarship through the MCAS to any state college if you get advanced and proficient. Come to find that only the top few percent will receive that scholarship within the district. The are great advertisers I must give them that, you really have to read the fine print with these tricksters. The Lower School and Middle School is great, but I regret not going to another high school. If your child gets into an exam school especially, send them there, they will benefit from it much more. The high school fails to help those in need of it, I know kids who go to tutoring everyday, do all of their work and they still are failing classes. Homework is ridiculous don't expect your child to have much of a social life.

Boston Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a teacher
I have taught at this school for the past decade and it's incredible. High standards, warm and nurturing environment for teacher and students alike. Every student is accepted to college and it's a culture of achievement and success. I wish my own kids could attend but it's a public lottery and they haven't been lucky enough to get a good number.That is tough to take, but it makes me work even harder for those kids who do get in. I want to make sure they have the widest range of choices upon graduation. You will not find a more dedicated staff than at Boston Collegiate.


Boston Collegiate Charter School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a community member
i might go to BCCS, because of your reviews, i think my life will change, i'm going to six and if i get accepted in this school and staying till 12 grade i hope this school will make a big change to my life ! :')

Boston Collegiate Charter School
no rating

Posted October 27, 2009
- a student
I go to BCCS and i love it. At BCCS, we have amazing friends and a great student-teacher relationship. People have said we get worked to hard, but i disagree. This school is just preparing us, not only for college, but also for our life plans. I love BCCS and i have beenhere from 5th grade and i will stay through 12th!

Nearby schools

Boston Collegiate Charter School
11 Mayhew Street, Boston, MA  02125
(617) 265-1172
Last modified Boston Collegiate Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top