Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bourne High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 615 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

It's been a terrific 4 years at BHS. Great teachers, great friends, small classes, high level of instruction. I found the teachers worked hard, but we were expected to do the same. I've heard that some lower level classes weren't challenging, but I suspect that was because many students just didn't want to work (I've seen that with many of my classmates). For a small school, it's got enough challenging classes and enough sports and extracurricular to keep any college minded student excited.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2013

I attended Bourne High in 1999 as a freshman and left to go to Sturgis because Bourne was so bad. The teachers paid no attention to anyone unless they were poorly behaved. I got good grades and was ignored. My brother also attended Bourne High, and like I saw in another review, he was targeted as a bad apple and constantly picked on and blamed for things he did not do by the teachers. I expect teachers to challenge students no matter what their academic level or skills are, but the teachers at Bourne just do not care about the kids or educating them. Bourne High just pushes kids through and offers little to no support to students who are advanced or who are struggling. I noticed a positive review by a student posted on here, it is full of spelling mistakes and grammar errors, something I think is typical of Bourne students. I spoke with a friend who stayed at Bourne for all four years of high school and she said she was completely unprepared for college because no one at Bourne taught her how to write a paper. On top of all of this, the school is completely run down and just depressing to be in. It's no surprise that 40% of students from Bourne choose to attend other schools.


Posted March 6, 2011

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the parents here who feel that the school is not good. If your child naturally does well and doesn't need help, they can make it through. This is not the school for any child that struggles or is on an IEP. Discipline is also unfairly handed out - once a student is targeted, it's all over. Dress codes are a joke. Also, for those parents who find a sense of bigotry, that is true of Bourne in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Both of my sons attend Bourne High School and I am mostly happy with the Principal and faculty. My older son does well academically and with sports. My younger son has had issues with his grades and I find that most of his teachers are willing to help in any way possible. There are always "those" teachers that are lacking, but this is an issue in most schools. The parents should be held just as accountable as the teachers. Every child should excel in an environment like Bourne High School, there's no excuse no to do well when the tools are available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

My child attends this school and feels so overlooked by the staff and teachers because of her being a minority.Not to say there is racism there, but feels unconnected due to the fact that there are no minority teachers who can understand where she's coming from.If you're not a star athelete, you're forgotten about and tossed to the wayside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

Bourne is not minority friendly. The only thing they encourage is sports. They do not acknowlege good grades or high academic achievement. A 3.5 or graduating 10th in your class does not get you into the honor society. I have had 3 children attend this school. I am happy to see my youngest get out of it. The only positive thing I can say is that Bourne teaches you how to overcome adversities. If you can survive the bigotry here you can survive anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

i have attended this school for about 2 years and i have to say that it is one of the most greatest schools i have been in. the teachers and staff are all wonderful exept on acasions. the athletic programes are wonderful. although the school is very old and has to have some fixing i think it is a wonderful school and the people are very friendly and exept you for who you are. the parents are very involved in all the schools activities and take part in the schools choices. overall i think this is the best school for someone who likes to be invloved
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

I think this school is great. My daughter just graduated this year and her grades were spectacular. The teachers all seemed like they took the time with the classes and kept it interesting. My son is now entering this school this year. I hope he has just as great an experience as she did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

after attending bourne high school for 4 years in was very hard to leave. the school has a great atmosphere and most of the teachers are great,
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial92%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female72%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students76%
Female69%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

81%

Average SAT score

1476

Graduation rate

91%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 68%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Black 2% 8%
Asian 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Waterhouse Rd
Bourne, MA 02532
Phone: (508) 759-0670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sandwich High School
East Sandwich, MA



Riverview School
East Sandwich, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT