Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Of Assisi School

Private | PK-8 | 52 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Braintree

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

I went to Sfa for a long time. Hell of a school. Great new principal. Kids are like a second family to me since prek. if u go to sfa enjoy the time you got. you will get emotional on graduation nite. washington trip was fun great way to finish 10 years with my second family. one great english teacher forget about the small classes... it is good that there are small classes... do you know why?? because everyone knows each other. that is my favorite thing about the school. fun gym teacher. No one is left out. Wish i came back


Posted December 27, 2012

the last review was so off... the school is fantastic. As for the principal.. Boston lost out on a great leader. As for new principal- great leader. Before a parent , individuals posts a review - know the facts otherwise you look foolish . Have these ridiculous parents been to a public school lately or any other school . SFA is a one of the best !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

With having 2 kids go to this school and 1 graduate from here June last I have to say my opinions are conflicted . I definitely feel the class sizes are a big issue. Way too many kids in 1 classroom. The class room size was small when we first started at preschool level . I feel it did become a business in the end. I did have 2 problems that were not addressed at all in fact they were ignored so I decided to pull my second child from SFA. The principal was not a people person and more of a glory hunter in my opinion. Thank god she has moved on this year so hopefully it can redeem itself to what it was like in former years . The turn over in teachers in the last 5/6 years was an inkling to maybe what kind the principal was as the teachers left every year not just 1 or 2 of them but more like 3 to 5 of them. Over all it was ok I liked they,re morals and they,re catholic teaching, I just wished the principal practiced what she preached . The upper grade teachers were only ok to . I felt more like they brought the kids down instead of rising them up . Just my opinion , glad I am done with SFA!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The school is not deserving of its reputation. It has become a business only concerned about the money and not the children. The building is small with even smaller class rooms that they squeeze well over 30 kids into. They are all placed on the same level so if your child is intelligent they will become bored. There is no room for them to play Gym or any other extra curricular activities especially on rainy days. The space they did have was taken away to build additional pre- k rooms. The Principal is the worst and if you go to her with a problem or concern be prepared she seems to forget that she has a job because of the parents who send their kids there. They are also oblivious to the extreme bullying that takes place even when brought to their attention. This will destroy any kid emotionally and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I am a girl who goes to St. Francis of Assisi and it is wonderful. I don't understand why St. Francis has this reputation. I found out that the economy became poor they raised there prices. At public schools I have seen they are bigger. DON'T SENT YOUR CHILD HERE. P.S I am leaving this year because my mom and dad doesn't like the size of everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2010

I am going to say that the class sizes are way to big. Plus the school is to small. I realized my child was complaining because the school has no gym. She says the music room is the hallway and if it's raining outside they use the lunch room for gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

Values...Morals... Technology (Smart Boards in EVERY classroom)...Dedicated faculty...I feel that my children are getting an education that is worthy of my hard earned money. I also am impressed with the schools that these kids are heading to after St Francis, Thayer, St. Sebs, BC High etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

Money well spent....As an administrator at the secondary level, I know what I want for my children. SFA provides the perfect environment for inquisitive, eager to learn children. They learn in a safe, nurturing environment. With only 2 years to go before HS, my children are well prepared in a cross section of disciplines (most importantly, the humanities, English and modern languages). At the elementary level, I want my kids learning how to study, why things happen, and to ask questions. The school has a great record of success at preparing her graduates for the future. I'm glad to recommend SFA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

My 4 year old just finished her first year at St Francis of Assisi. I was worried about her because she was really apprehensive about going to school where she knew no one, and having started two months after the other students. It took her exactly one day to be completely comfortable there. From the Teachers assistants, to the principal, to the teacher. Everyone was wonderful and understanding of her needs. I have never worried for her safety or well-being. She has truly blossomed in a few short months. She learned many things she had not previously known while in attendance at daycare. She started writing her name,learned about weather, and hibernation, speaking Spanish and started using computers! I am very impressed with St Francis of Assisi so far. My daughter keeps saying she misses school. I feel like it is worth the money. Her teacher Ms. Brennan was especially great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

My 3 children have been in this school since preschool. We have now been with the school for 6 years. I can't say enough about it, it is truly wonderful. The school is like a family, the teachers are very involved and easy to communicate with. The principle has an open door policy and is a great leader. She has worked very hard to give the children the state of the art technology, as well as languages, and the proper academic tools they need to succeed. The public schools are losing teachers every year due to pay cuts. Their classrooms are getting very large. Their books and suppiles are showing their age and they are not getting support from town $$$ wise. SFA is constantly updating the academic programs, the building, the supplies. I feel fortunate to have found such a wonderful teaching evironment for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

I feel that this school does deserve it's repretation. The modern technology and the high academics of this school not to mention the languages that are taught have helped my children. The support that my family gets from the teachers and principal is of a caring christian environment. When I leave my children at school I feel that they are being well cared for. That is something that the public school system did not make me feel. I did at one time have a problem at this school, and yes, through time and christian patience for one another it was worked out. I would tell anyone to send their children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

I am very happy with this school. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I think that for the amount of money parents pay in tuition, the classroom sizes are definitely too big. I have had friends, whose kids are in surrounding public schools, who don't pay a dime tell me that the class sizes are much smaller. There were times last year when my son would come home complaining that he didn't understand the subject matter that was taught, etc. Of course not, because a teacher with that many students cannot possibly devote that much time to one on one attention. Additionally, I am not impressed with the principal. She doesn't take criticism well and seems to forget that she has a job because of us parents who send our kids there. I went to parochial schools as a child and no difference between one that's first rate and one that is not. The school is not deserving of its reputation and is overrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Black 16% 8%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Washington Street
Braintree, MA 02184
Phone: (781) 848-0842

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Thayer Academy
Braintree, MA






East Middle School
Braintree, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT