Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Edison K-8 School

Public | K-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2012

I am a parent of two children at the Edison. I am very pleased with the school. We came from one of the closed elementary schools that merged with the others. They kept a lot of the teachers from our school and that has contributed to the success. The teachers are very good and always available to talk to you. They care about the children. The same can be said about the principle also. All in all a great experincefor my kids and I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

This site is old. Edison is now K1-8 school since meager in 2009. Our son is just finishing K1 and we are so pleased. The staff is great, his teacher is awesome, and is principle is always around. For the younger grades it is excellent. I think this will be the same as his class gets older. Check it out. It has specialty classes like dance music 2 sciences and gym. They put on performances in the auditorium.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

The Edison School is really improving since the middle school merged with two elementary schools (Hamilton and Garfield) to make a K-8 school. The new principal is the school's biggest asset by pushing for school improvement in every way: academic; teaching; facilities; performing arts; parent involvement; etc. This school is one to watch for significant improvements in the next few years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

im sorry but as a student who's have been there for 3 years stight in that school it is very poor! and yet some teacher help out the student as much as they can! but what got me madd was how differnt grades get more then others im in the 8th grade and we have a lot of messed up things like text books,desk,dicitary,and ect...the students can be mean or veary rasict and can be perverted most times but most students are veay nice.. they took out most classes like dance but it was ok..but the school needs an upgrade because its too old and fallin apart!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

We moved from Boston mainly for the reason that this school was hurting my child. There was very little to do in terms of after school activities and because of the lack of teacher attention, an otherwise good student was getting worse in all subjects. We spend the entire summer tutoring our child in math in order to undo the damage this school did to our child's math skills. this means he really did not get any summer vacation. Well at least he is in a better school now and should have better prospects in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

-Needs more academic classes (such as science and social studies should be available for the whole year) -Needs more after school clubs -Should encourage students more to achieve higher academic records (such as most of them being in the A/P or Proficient level in the MCAS. -Good choice on the Merit/Demerit system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

the school has gotten better...the have many kinds od sports now like tennis, girls and boys soccer teams, track, ect...even clubs newspaper, robotics, step, and a afterschool program called citizens school i agree they dont have a strong music program but it did start up last year...teachers care about the students and are willing to help afterschool or whenever they can...students can be crazy at times but we can also come together as a community...parents should get involved more it's not the schools fault it's the parents fault for not caring about their child's education to help the school or teach there kids right from wrong so people shouldnt blame the school...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2005

Just about the worst school ever, kids are out of control and very racist, there are many fights, etc. parents are not involved, there are no sports besides basketball, art and music not avalible to everyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Glenmont Road
Brighton, MA 02135
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 635-8436

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edison K-8
Brighton, MA





Alexander Hamilton
Brighton, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT