Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edison K-8 School 2

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
I made a sad choice to put my daughter in this school because of the dumb lottery system for Boston Public School choices. Here are the Pros and Cons: Pros: Qualified teachers, nice gym facilities, nice school location, good attention to wellness Cons: Horrible discipline to the majority of students, high profanity, violence, horrible discipline to bps buses, inappropriate behavior and languages( you can interpret this in all facets), teachers not being able to focus to teach more than they want to do since they spend the most time calming the class down, the principal inattentiveness to the parents and students since she assigned vice principals to do her "dirty" work. young children who talk about sex. This is a sad situation when it is a good infrastructure for a school. I have learned sad stories about kids and parents who just don't care and the staff doesn't do anything about it really.

Edison K-8 School 4

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of two children at the Edison. I am very pleased with the school. We came from one of the closed elementary schools that merged with the others. They kept a lot of the teachers from our school and that has contributed to the success. The teachers are very good and always available to talk to you. They care about the children. The same can be said about the principle also. All in all a great experincefor my kids and I.


Edison K-8 School 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
This site is old. Edison is now K1-8 school since meager in 2009. Our son is just finishing K1 and we are so pleased. The staff is great, his teacher is awesome, and is principle is always around. For the younger grades it is excellent. I think this will be the same as his class gets older. Check it out. It has specialty classes like dance music 2 sciences and gym. They put on performances in the auditorium.

Edison K-8 School 4

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
The Edison School is really improving since the middle school merged with two elementary schools (Hamilton and Garfield) to make a K-8 school. The new principal is the school's biggest asset by pushing for school improvement in every way: academic; teaching; facilities; performing arts; parent involvement; etc. This school is one to watch for significant improvements in the next few years!

Edison K-8 School 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Edison K-8 School 1

Posted January 18, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Edison K-8 School 1

Posted March 12, 2008
- a student
im sorry but as a student who's have been there for 3 years stight in that school it is very poor! and yet some teacher help out the student as much as they can! but what got me madd was how differnt grades get more then others im in the 8th grade and we have a lot of messed up things like text books,desk,dicitary,and ect...the students can be mean or veary rasict and can be perverted most times but most students are veay nice.. they took out most classes like dance but it was ok..but the school needs an upgrade because its too old and fallin apart!

Edison K-8 School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
We moved from Boston mainly for the reason that this school was hurting my child. There was very little to do in terms of after school activities and because of the lack of teacher attention, an otherwise good student was getting worse in all subjects. We spend the entire summer tutoring our child in math in order to undo the damage this school did to our child's math skills. this means he really did not get any summer vacation. Well at least he is in a better school now and should have better prospects in the future.


Edison K-8 School 2

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
-Needs more academic classes (such as science and social studies should be available for the whole year) -Needs more after school clubs -Should encourage students more to achieve higher academic records (such as most of them being in the A/P or Proficient level in the MCAS. -Good choice on the Merit/Demerit system

Edison K-8 School 4

Posted November 25, 2006
- a former student
the school has gotten better...the have many kinds od sports now like tennis, girls and boys soccer teams, track, ect...even clubs newspaper, robotics, step, and a afterschool program called citizens school i agree they dont have a strong music program but it did start up last year...teachers care about the students and are willing to help afterschool or whenever they can...students can be crazy at times but we can also come together as a community...parents should get involved more it's not the schools fault it's the parents fault for not caring about their child's education to help the school or teach there kids right from wrong so people shouldnt blame the school...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edison K-8 School
60 Glenmont Road, Brighton, MA  02135
(617) 635-8436
Last modified Edison K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8
Edison K-8 School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top