Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary of the Assumption Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 228 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brookline

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $550,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

St. Mary's is a great school. The teachers are exceptional. The principal is new this year and is an amazing, well educated woman who loves children. The teachers are also amazing. The only problem I have with the school is the parents who can deal with changes. Instead of helping to make the school the best possible place for their kids....they suck the life out of everybody by being negative and complaining (i.e. some previous posts). If you hate the school so much why don't you take your kids out or why don't you make more of an effort to help and be connected. Why don't you volunteer in your kids class room? Why don't you offer to help out in your kids class? The Principle, Teachers, Community and Parents make a school. Use your energy to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Some teachers are excellent, and some are absolutely terrible with NO credentials, and not even a master's degree or background in child development or teaching! This is what you get from private, catholic schools. And yes, their interest will ALWAYS come before yours or that of your child's! You have to figure out if this is better than the public school in your area, and just for now, for me it is! If you can afford a better private school or a good public school system, then definitely go there! Yes, they need to really look into some of their teachers, and their new principal has changed some administrative things for the better but she thinks like a lawyer and is NOT as accessible as the other principal. School administration, money, and business will always come first. They do not listen to the parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I absolutely adore this school. The education is great, the kids move on to all the elite schools in the area. The curriculum is comparable to schools that cost 5X as much. The diversity is amazing and most importantly the children are happy. The school does get a bit small in middle school, but that is only b/c a lot of the children get accepted into top notch programs by that time. I do agree with the other reviews, the amenities are not state of the art but they do have smart boards and all the "necessary" technologies. I would recommend this school 100X over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I am a parent of a student at this school. It's kind of odd that there are suddenly all these positive reviews of this school all of a sudden. I agree with the reviewer who said that everything is ok as long as you don't question anything that they do. When you question something about your child's education, then you will see their true colors. The principal is fake and the teachers are fake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Excellent School and Excellent Teachers and Staff:) My daughter has been going to Saint Marys for 3 years and I will continue to keep her in this school till 8th grade. Yes, its pricey and yes, it seems like there is quite a price increase every year. But besides the financials, I am super happy with this school. Every teacher/office staff really cares about each student. The Principal is also amazing and so kind as well. Great School !! I Highly Recommend :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

We came to this school hearing great things about it, until this year. There's a 5th grade teacher that doesn't have any experience and looses the children's classwork. The worst part is that the parents have made their concerns known to the Principal who has protected her and made excuses. A parent removed her child at the beginning of the year due to the unprofessional conduct from the teacher yelling at parents and not permitting the parents to ask her questions without a scheduled appt. The principal has even banded parents from being able to come to the classroom during school hours in his efforts to cover up the incompetence of the teacher. She looses the children classwork, homework and indicate that they have not turned it in. My biggest concern is the Administrations handling of the reports from many parents. The challenge is that several teachers have children that attend the school thus the unequitable bias. I do not recommend this school based on the cover ups when there are situations reported against the teacher. As long as you don't report any issues or have any concerns the teachers you will never see the disturbing behavior of the principal and the priest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Great School!! A condusive environment for children to learn and grow and be individuals. Amazingly diverse. My kids have been to 3 other private schools in 2 seperate states. One of which was MUCH more expensive than St. Mary's. St. Mary's is incomparably superior to any other school we have attended from an EDUCATIONAL PERSPECTIVE. Yes...as stated in reviews below the facilities do have room for improvement but that aside it is a great place. We are happy and most importantly my children are happy. Love this school-wish they went all the way through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

This school is the worst one where I have experienced. I am not sure that the staffs really love and want help students to have a good experience in the school. it seems that they just want money from students and this is just goal in operating school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

The school facilities are not the best, but the environment is truly diverse and welcoming. St. Mary's staff truly take care of the students needs. I love the school and the great afterschool program that offers a series of activities with great, energetic and hardworking staff. The school is safe, and parent involvement is truly necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

I gradulated from St. Mary's It is a good school. Best its not a great school. They teach you alot about religion and great values. The education can be better. Class of 2004.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 18, 2006

Parent involvement is a strict requirement in this school. Very welcoming and diverse community with warm and nurturing staff. My child is in his third year here and thriving. Lots of fun activities for the kids during the school year. We love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

St. Mary's is not a good school if you are looking for a school that thinks money is more important than Christian values. The director is a money hungry person who does not care for the children. The principal, however, is a very nice woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 31% 69%
Asian 26% 5%
Black 17% 8%
Two or more races 15% 2%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

67 Harvard St
Brookline, MA 02445
Phone: (617) 566-7184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pierce
Brookline, MA


John D Runkle
Brookline, MA


Lawrence
Brookline, MA


Meridian Academy
Brookline, MA


Maimonides School
Brookline, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT