Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International School Of Boston

Private | PK-12 | 552 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Cambridge

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $467,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2013

As a teacher, I see the students grow during their years at ISB into capable, sophisticated students and --more importantly--wise and kind people. Although many students speak more than two languages fluently, most enter with fluency in only one language and leave with strong skills in two or three. There were some leadership problems in the past, but the leadership is now competent and stable. The student body is very international, so students learn a great deal from each other. When my students asked me to pronounce a Russian word, I gave them my best effort but was also able to say, "You should ask..." and named a Russian student. Students use their extensive & varied international experience in thinking about history, economics, politics and literature. Recently a planned visitor to my class did not arrive so our anticipated project was spoiled and simultaneously a visitor who had come to evaluate a different program arrived in my class unexpectedly. With no preparation, the students engaged in a reflective debate on a topic we had studied. I have taught in many places in several countries and have never encountered a student body as kind academically strong.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2013

Leadership of the school is quite poor and so not welcoming The curriculum is challenging, especially in 8th grade, but that is a good thing. Some teachers are good, but it's not true across the board. They are not very flexible and the kids need to fit in right away or you can be called in the principal office twice in the first couple of months to "justify" why your kid is a bit "lost"; when what you are dealing with is only an adjustment issue. They don't seem to understand that some kids coming from a different country might need a few weeks to adapt. Sometimes you do wonder if their mission is to educate kids or just hit the right test scores and financial numbers. With the amount of homework, they also make it hard to enjoy learning. Sports and after school is poor. Will not recommend it for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I have one child at this school and another starting September 2012: we are all very happy. Specifically: the quality and rigor of the curriculum, the teacher/student ratio, the caring and invested faculty, and the language program. . Most problems that I hear about other schools having (bullying, grade inflation, bored middle schoolers, lack of homework and assessment, and poor discipline ) Do NOT exist here. It's like a happy bubble of diverse and curious people. Parent involvement is high but not required.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

I have had 3 children at this school. While some of the teachers are good many are not. There is a big problem with consistency among teachers, and I found the administration to be unstable and unable to create a solid bilingual environment for ALL of the population at the school. As the tuition prices have risen they haven't delivered an increase in quality. The best part about the school is the idea your child is learning a second language, but with many downsides and for the cost it is not enough for a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

What a horrible place for my kids !!!! I had a child in the Arlington school and one in the Cambridge school, the teatchers a not flexible, are unfriendly and shout at the kids and don't take into consideration the need of the children. The level of English is very low, the quality of the French teaching is debatable, a lot of money for very little quality. My children go now to an American school and heve never been happier !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

My daughters are in 6th and 2nd grade and have been at ISB since mid-K. We absolutely love the school. The teachers are driven and dedicated, the classes are small (14 and 16 kids this year in their classes), and the balance between French and English is very good. The curriculum is demanding but the kids are engaged and learning. The student population is a wonderful mix and the parents are involved in the school. There are many activities organized to build a strong sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I'm a student here at ISBOS and I absolutely love it! Although there might not be enough students, I'm really close with the people in my class! The twelve graders have gone to great colleges and will continue to do so. I love this school so much and encourage student to come here next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

Thoroughly embedded in the French style of teaching, this school provides great language skills to its students though rather inflexibly. If the student did not start out with language aptitude, this school will not help, the pedogogy assumes the aptitude. The physical building is ancient, unkept and the work areas for teachers/students are cramped and disasterously messy. A great education can still be had with some excellent instructors. As in the French system, all teachers are not patient, and there are inconsistencies with the personal behaviour of students on the school premises. Parents are generally involved and interested. After school programs are diverse and run through four sessions per year allowing kids to choose from a vast selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Black 4% 8%
Hispanic 3% 16%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (617) 499-1454

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Matignon Road
Cambridge, MA 02140
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 499-1451

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Matignon High School
Cambridge, MA




Dearborn Academy
Arlington, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT