Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
440 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Matignon High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
I felt grateful for English teacher Mrs. Rad. She is an amazing women who would go to the end of the earth for her students- more teachers should be like this woman.

Matignon High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
The homework load is the last thing this school should be worrying about. Homework doesn't matter much to students who all copy each others assignments.


Matignon High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
Most students get their work handed to them from upperclassmen who charge money for old tests and projects.

Matignon High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
Teachers grade based on personal feelings for students. The guidance department is extremely unhelpful and the people in charge don't even know how to use a computer. Getting my transcripts was nearly impossible.

Matignon High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Academics are sub-par and grading is way too lenient for students. Not enough challenging material.


Matignon High School 2

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
This high school is not worth the tuition. It's basically a public school with uniforms.

Matignon High School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough about Matignon High School. My children (twins) had a hard time in a public middle school and after looking at different private schools for high school they both picked Matignon. They said is was an easy decision because when they shadowed there "it was like we had been going there already. People treated us like we were students there and everyone was friendly." They were behind a bit when they started but the teachers have been great getting them caught up to where they need to be! They are now sophomores and are doing very well. They love their school and are proud to go there. I can't speak highly enough about the faculty, the Principal and Vice Principal. As Christians is was important we found a school who shares our values and beliefs... I did not want God shut out when the school doors closed! I consider myself lucky to have found this school! To see my kids happy and doing well means the world to me and my husband.

Matignon High School 4

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Matignon is a good alternative to some of the large public schools in the area. It is small enough that your child isn't lost in the crowd but large enough to have a lot to offer.


Matignon High School 2

Posted September 27, 2014
- a parent
Matignon High School was a top pick school choice and I had high expectations as a parent sending my child to a private school. However, upon completion of the first academic year the experience was less than optimum to say the least. The lack of use of the most fundamental Christian values, stereo type of certain segments of the student population, along with lack of real leadership has lead me to realize that they could never fulfill their promise of EXELLENCE! As a school that is supposed to be faith based they really need to evaluate what they stand for, signed a very disappointed parent.

Matignon High School 2

Posted October 01, 2013
- a student
this school is an amazing school if your white honestly or even chiense. black students are not treated equally at this school at all. there has been numerous occasions in which a black student would get punished heavily for the same thing a white student does and they just get a slap on the wrist. when i went it was 2009 and it shouldn't be that way but it was. Like I said it is an AMAZING school that you can be very successful from. most the teacher are great. But, i remember one time i went to the guidance counselor she asked me what i wanted do be i told her a doctor she said that is too hard for me to do and i should consider something else. I thought it was just me but a few other black students had the same experience. It really did hurt being in that school and affected the way i felt about myself. I talked it over with my mother and left halfway through the year because depression was starting to take a toll on me. I have always went to all white schools but never felt different or bad about the skin I am in. I am going to pursue my hopes of being a doctor and I don't care what she or anyone else says about me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Matignon High School
1 Matignon Road, Cambridge, MA  02140
(617) 876-1212
Last modified Matignon High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Matignon High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top