Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public
Cambridge, MA

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fletcher/Maynard Academy 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
FMA is the most welcoming, peaceful, diverse, engaging, creative place for kids. FMA's Principal, Robin Harris, is a visionary creating an environment where kids learn about the world at large, get engaged in international programs, and where kids are nurtured like in a family. From pre-K and on, kids have four music lessons/week. It has a beautiful basketball gym where kids get to have physical activity. There is a huge emphasis on sciences and life long learning. We moved to Cambridge after the school lottery for the year was closed, and I was terrified of where my son would go. We found FMA almost accidently. From the first day, when Robin Harris took time to personally introduce us to the school, we felt like at home and have loved it ever since. My son wants to go to the school every day. Grateful parent

Fletcher/Maynard Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is the best in Cambridge Ms.Harris is the principle she is dedicated to the core of what learning is all about Fletcher Maynard Acadamy is the only school in Cambridge in intrenational trips .Ms.Harris fund raise for the kids all year long to give the kids the opportunity to travel INTERNTIONALLY with supervised staff that dedicated to teaching as Ms. Harris love this school soo much love the staff all from the princalple to the janitor It's sad that I see my son go to middle school I wish he could stay there for ever


Fletcher/Maynard Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been going to the school for 2 years now, and I found the staff and faculty are all willing to go the extra mile for our kids. It's really encouraging to know that we are able to speak our minds and actually be heard regarding our children's education.

Fletcher/Maynard Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
The principal Robin Harris is like an angel to us. I have never ever seen such a great principal that is so willing to help the parents and the children. With such a great principal, I think the school must be great. I am looking forward for my both son staying in this school.

Fletcher/Maynard Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a teacher
I Love this school. It's a place where each individual can grow. This school embraces all cultures and learning styles. The students here have expressed to me that they love this school more than some of the other schools that they have attended. The students get to travel to places like China and enjoy the arts. Some favorites are musical instruments, computers and they really appreciate gym this time of year.


Fletcher/Maynard Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
The faculty are dedicated to student achievement!

Fletcher/Maynard Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Fletcher-Maynard makes very good use of community resources to expand its offerings to students.

Fletcher/Maynard Academy 4

Posted December 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Fletcher/Maynard Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 22, 2008
- a parent
My son went to school at the FMA this year and it was such a great experience for him. He'll be going next year as well. I looked at the other schools in the area and couldn't believe the staff turn over rate (Cambridgeport). There's nothing worse than unhappy teachers. The class sizes are small. the enrichment classes in the after school are awesome (piano) and the extended day is such a great opportunity for kids to learn all subjects. They have Spanish for the students!!

Fletcher/Maynard Academy 4

Posted November 20, 2004
- a staff
I am not a parent of an FMA student, but I do have the honor of being a regular volunteer there. I have worked as a childcare professional for ten years. I've worked with teachers, teenagers, veteran childcare professionals and MEC beurocrats. I've worked at afterschool programs and all - day programs. I feel that I have the objectivity to say that the teachers and many of the parents at FMA have really rallied to try to help a school at the mercy of the MCAS system,not to mention our presidential administration's other misguided initiatives.This is a school that is only four years into what was a major change for the families and staff( when The Fletcher School and Maynard Academy had to combine)!I am confident about it's future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fletcher/Maynard Academy
225 Windsor St, Cambridge, MA  02139
(617) 349-6588
Last modified Fletcher/Maynard Academy is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fletcher/Maynard Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top