Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Amigos School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are doing a great job motivating the students and making learning fun. They encourage the children to learn in a creative way.

The Amigos School 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
We have been very pleased with the warmth of the school environment and our son's education during his time at Amigos thus far. The parent community is also very engaged and I think the common thread of valuing dual-language learning creates a tighter-knit community than I have seen elsewhere. Having to operate in both Spanish and English throughout the day is hard work for the students, and that's a good thing as it adds an additional level of rigor to their educational experience.


The Amigos School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
Amigos is a really great school. Our kids are learning in Spanish and English and thriving. Teachers genuinely care about what happens in the classrooms. We are friends with many parents and the school community is motivated and involved. The Amigos community school offers amazing afterschool classes including bi-lingual homework help. We feel very lucky that our kids are going to Amigos.

The Amigos School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Our son loves going to Amigos every day! The atmosphere is happy and energizing. The school climate is joyful, respectful and supportive. Teachers and other staff work hard on improving things for the students. The teachers love each other and learn from one another. We have met other wonderful families that share our love of learning and belief in social justice. Amigos is a really fun place!

The Amigos School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at Amigos since 2008. She loves going to school. We have had wonderful teachers, and my child has made great friends. She has learned a LOT of Spanish. Her favorite is social studies.. Some highlights have been projects about the Wampanoag tribe, Antarctica, and puppet plays. She loves having reading as homework and Writer's Workshop.


The Amigos School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Amigos. So far our experience has been amazing. Noelle, the JK teacher is one of the best teachers I've encountered for that age group ever. She builds a strong community among the kids. Every weekend my son would come home asking when he got to go back to school. He's starting to speak some Spanish at home as well. He seems to be having a great year so far as well.

The Amigos School 3

Posted September 16, 2013
- a community member
I need to get more information about this school..my granddaughter attends KG there...is there a way to get updates? .

The Amigos School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My kids are having a great experience at Amigos. They make friends, learn and enjoy everyday going to school.It is incredible to see them reading and writing in English and Spanish.


The Amigos School 1

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
My child is on the waiting list at Amigos. We called to request a tour and were treated rudely by the receptionist. She seemed to think that since we hadn't yet gotten in, we didn't have a right to inquire or visit. She also disparaged the kind teacher from another school who recommended we visit. I do hope the rest of the staff has better manners.

The Amigos School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
My youngest just graduated. They went to this school and (mostly) enjoyed learning Spanish (our family is English speaking). We felt very lucky to have a free public school that is bilingual immersion. The school has to do more to address classroom and playground behavior - but so do all schools. Definitely worth looking at - and getting all your friends to join.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Amigos School
15 Upton Street, Cambridge, MA  02139
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (617) 349-6567
Last modified The Amigos School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top