Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public
Cambridge, MA

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Amigos School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
Amigos is a really great school. Our kids are learning in Spanish and English and thriving. Teachers genuinely care about what happens in the classrooms. We are friends with many parents and the school community is motivated and involved. The Amigos community school offers amazing afterschool classes including bi-lingual homework help. We feel very lucky that our kids are going to Amigos.

The Amigos School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Our son loves going to Amigos every day! The atmosphere is happy and energizing. The school climate is joyful, respectful and supportive. Teachers and other staff work hard on improving things for the students. The teachers love each other and learn from one another. We have met other wonderful families that share our love of learning and belief in social justice. Amigos is a really fun place!


The Amigos School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at Amigos since 2008. She loves going to school. We have had wonderful teachers, and my child has made great friends. She has learned a LOT of Spanish. Her favorite is social studies.. Some highlights have been projects about the Wampanoag tribe, Antarctica, and puppet plays. She loves having reading as homework and Writer's Workshop.

The Amigos School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Amigos. So far our experience has been amazing. Noelle, the JK teacher is one of the best teachers I've encountered for that age group ever. She builds a strong community among the kids. Every weekend my son would come home asking when he got to go back to school. He's starting to speak some Spanish at home as well. He seems to be having a great year so far as well.

The Amigos School 3

Posted September 16, 2013
- a community member
I need to get more information about this school..my granddaughter attends KG there...is there a way to get updates? .


The Amigos School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My kids are having a great experience at Amigos. They make friends, learn and enjoy everyday going to school.It is incredible to see them reading and writing in English and Spanish.

The Amigos School 1

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
My child is on the waiting list at Amigos. We called to request a tour and were treated rudely by the receptionist. She seemed to think that since we hadn't yet gotten in, we didn't have a right to inquire or visit. She also disparaged the kind teacher from another school who recommended we visit. I do hope the rest of the staff has better manners.

The Amigos School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
My youngest just graduated. They went to this school and (mostly) enjoyed learning Spanish (our family is English speaking). We felt very lucky to have a free public school that is bilingual immersion. The school has to do more to address classroom and playground behavior - but so do all schools. Definitely worth looking at - and getting all your friends to join.


The Amigos School 1

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
This school was a disaster-- no classroom control, rote learning, disorganized administration. The parent who described this school as "unsafe" was absolutely right. We pulled our kid out.

The Amigos School 1

Posted May 12, 2012
- a parent
We had high hopes for the Amigos School & were extremely disappointed. One day a parent came up to me apologizing for her sons participation in a situation that had occurred four days prior. I had no idea what she was talking about. She told me that her son was 1 of 6 kids that had cornered my son during recess and took turns hitting him, taunting him, etc. This parent was surprised we didn't know & suggested that we talk to the principal about it. She herself & 2 other parents had a conversation about the incident with the teacher & principal. When we approached the principal she said she didn't tell us about, but planned on doing so after she completed her "investigation". We talked to our son and asked him about the incident &... he just didn't want to talk about it. I believed I was sending my child to a great school & did not realize I was sending him to an unsafe environment where there is lack of supervision. Things didn't get much better after we called the superintendent of schools. Well... at least the school let us know when two other kids took my child's glasses off his face and threw them into a neighboring homes yard. We pulled him out immediately!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Amigos School
15 Upton St, Cambridge, MA  02139
(617) 349-6567
Last modified The Amigos School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Amigos School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top