Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public
Cambridge, MA
Students enrolled: 294

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Luther King, Jr. School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Both my children went to this school (after transferring from a school in Newton, our old neighborhood) and it is wonderful. The teachers are excellent and really care about their students. They are also completely rebuilding the school building now, so I am excited about the new facilities, modern classrooms, and state of the art tech that will be coming with the new building.

Martin Luther King, Jr. School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
At every grade level this school is great! And, it keeps getting better! This school is a quality school that offers so much.


Martin Luther King, Jr. School 1

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
The principle has no vision to begin, no skill to run the school and no idea to move programs forward. Steer clear if you are serious about your kids' education

Martin Luther King, Jr. School 3

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
The Chinese immersion program attracted many parents who cares deeply about their children's learning and strongly believe in the advantages of dual-language immersion approach. However, the quality of the immersion Chinese program is inconsistent, the English class is average, music and art are offered at only minimum level.

Martin Luther King, Jr. School 4

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends the Chinese Immersion program at MLK. We are thrilled with her teachers and all she has learned!


Martin Luther King, Jr. School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
The kindergarten Chinese and English immersion teachers are amazing! While we speak English at home, our daughter loves singing in Chinese, and is starting to read in both Chinese and English. We also have an after-school Chinese class for parents.

Martin Luther King, Jr. School 5

Posted October 26, 2010
- a teacher
I'm impressed with the quality of services offered at the King school - small class sizes, assistants in most classrooms, good services for special needs. The principal and assistant principal are very present - kids know them and feel comfortable going to them and other staff with problems.

Martin Luther King, Jr. School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King, Jr. School
100 Putnam Ave, Cambridge, MA  02139
(617) 349-6562
Last modified Martin Luther King, Jr. School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Luther King, Jr. School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top