Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Cambridge, MA
Students enrolled: 406
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kennedy-Longfellow School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Cambridge so that my husband could attend MIT. We were apprehensive about the lottery system because we were late in applying due to the circumstances surrounding finding a place to live, etc. We picked three other schools that had wait lists (while Kennedy-Longfellow didn't have a wait list). The Cambridge school system had a record enrollment of Kindergarteners last year (2014), so we didn't find out until August which school our son would go to (didn't find out his teacher until two weeks prior to school). He was assigned Kennedy-Longfellow. At the time, it was only rated a 2 out of 10 by greatschools.org. But when we went to our orientation meeting with his teacher, any concerns we had subsided. The new principal made her presence known in the first few weeks and I am guessing the test scores went up as a result of her strong leadership. The building is old, but the classrooms are warm and inviting. Our son's teachers were amazing. He just graduated from Kindergarten and had a wonderful year. In addition to learning how to read and perform addition and subtraction, he learned how to be a caring and respectful citizen of the school. He also had fun in art class, library, music and gym. The after-school program is great. Also, during the fall he went on walking field trips to the library, firehouse and ice skating rink (where they were taught how to safely skate by instructors). They also went on two bus field trips to the farm and children's museum. There is also a technology grant from Lesley University. We loved our experience at K-Lo and will be sad to leave.

Kennedy-Longfellow School 5

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
We moved our child here from another Cambridge public school, and the difference is astounding. The teachers are the cream of the crop: caring, nurturing, and experienced in dealing with children with learning differences. There is definitely a disconnect between the administration and the rest of the school, but in our experience it is the teachers who make all the difference. The bottom line for us, the teachers here make our child happy to go to school everyday.


Kennedy-Longfellow School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Spacious classrooms with large windows, excellent teachers, very pleasant staff, phenomenal reading specialist, shady playground with water feature, climbing structures and field...

Kennedy-Longfellow School 1

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
Bullying is a huge problem at this school. The first grade teacher, who discouraged any type of parent involvement in the classroom, is totally inept and actually cruel to bullied children. The principal refuses to deal with any bullying problems. Language classes were taken away from students. There is no advanced or ISP program. Reminds me of a 1970s prison film.

Kennedy-Longfellow School 3

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
While the academics of this school are great, I lost trust in the administration after my daughter was bullied... Even after a safety plan was put in place, my daughter continued to be a target of physical attacks by another student. That student is still in the school - but my daughter won't be... Sad that the victim has to leave the school in order to be safe.


Kennedy-Longfellow School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a community member
Amazing school. Its a big disappointment that the new middle school plan does not include KLO as a middle school. Wonderful students, kind teachers and the ISP is a great program. The art, music, Italian, Spanish, Lab, P.E., librarian, and staff are just great. They bring so much enthusiasm and makes the learning worthwhile.

Kennedy-Longfellow School 4

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school. We've been here for 2 years hoping to stay for another year or more. The Kindergarten to Gr. 2 have a new energetic and enthusiastic Italian teacher. The kids are so lucky to have her. Learning two or more languages are truly a blessing for my daughter. Also, we are looking forward to have our newly hired Principal and we highly believe KLo families are going to have a great 2010-2011 and more. More Power to All!

Kennedy-Longfellow School 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school. Great teaching love the ISP programme.


Kennedy-Longfellow School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
Kennedy Longfellow is a great 'village' school in the heart of vibrant East Cambridge. KLS flies under the radar in terms of reputation, but houses some of the system's best teachers and programs. We love this school for spirit, teachers, academics, and the physical plant which includes great outdoor space, CitySprouts, and recreation rooms on top of a great gym and playground. KLS is not to be overlooked.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kennedy-Longfellow School
158 Spring Street, Cambridge, MA  02141
(617) 349-6841
Last modified Kennedy-Longfellow School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kennedy-Longfellow School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top