Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lt Peter M Hansen 1

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Very terrible, not support for children on a IEP. If you child is on a IEP stay far away from the schools in Canton, MA.

Lt Peter M Hansen 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
Great school ahead of its time. Professional staff Awesome teachers. Great parent participation Flashback. Student council. Year book. Play. Camp wing. All great programs.


Lt Peter M Hansen
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
it is an excellent school with great academics and very polite and mannerly children

Lt Peter M Hansen
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
We chose to raise our family in Canton because of the wonderful reputation of the school system. To date, we are thrilled wit hthe overall progress that our children have made. Grade k and 1 parents

Lt Peter M Hansen
no rating

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
my daughter started this school in september and i actually like all the homework they give, it keeps my child busy. i also think that part of the strategy is to leave the discipline and teaching to the teachers, i found that difficult in the beginning but when i stayed out of the little things she adjusted much quicker. I am wondering why the MCAS scores are a 8 and they use to be a 9 or 10. They divided the math classes up so that it will be easier for the students to ask questions. My daughter went from a B- in math to a A, this happened when they divided the classes. There's not alot of good schools out there, and private schools are not always that great.


Lt Peter M Hansen 4

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
Great School systems here in Canton, MA. but the teachers need to slow down on HOMEWORK! My son gets about 1.5-2 Hours of Homework many times. Not fair for the students & parents. That would be the ONLY thing they have to change.

Lt Peter M Hansen 2

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
We moved to Canton in 2000 largely because of the terrific reputation of the school system and the relative affordability for Massachusetts. All started out as planned and each successive year, the school system has been progressively decimated and each attempt at a budget over-ride has been shot down by the town. Bigger classes, lots of substitute teachers, attention to discipline and none to academics. The bottom line is that all of our kids are now in private school and had we to do it over again, there is no chance we would chose Canton. If you are moving from out of state, look elsewhere. The town of Canton took their schools for granted and no they are woefully failing.

Lt Peter M Hansen 5

Posted August 03, 2007
- a student
I was a student at the Hansen school just a two months ago. I will need to say that the cafeteria food was that good and was looked like you were in the early 1990's. Most the the teachers were nice, and those people were great accept for a few, not the best grades they give out but kind of fair. Nothing special about it but a godd school for anyone in the Norfolk County.


Lt Peter M Hansen
no rating

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
We moved to canton in the yr 2000,my older child started gr 3, ever since she has been a model child with the help of the teachers and principal. I left the teaching completely in the hands of the teachers and she excelled, this year 2006 [my student] was accepted by milton academy for gr 9th, that was the only academy she had applied and specified she was excellent in canton and happy. In 2005 my younger daughter started gr 1 in Canton Hansen school like her sister. As a parent I am overjoyed and proud at both of our daughters achievements and am proud of the canton school system. thanks to great teachers and principal of Hansen and Galvin schools. From dr. And mrs. Chakrabart

Lt Peter M Hansen 5

Posted February 09, 2004
- a parent
We moved to Canton in 2002, and are very pleased with the quality education our 3rd grade daughter is receiving at the Hansen. Her education has been individualized to meet her skill sets and needs, and she is showing continuous marked improvement scholastically. Teachers are given the authority to assist in selecting teachers for subsequent years, which helps in assuring a good match for the best possible learning environment.

Nearby schools

Lt Peter M Hansen
25 Pecunit Street, Canton, MA  02021
(781) 821-5085
Last modified Lt Peter M Hansen is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top