Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clarence R Edwards Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2012

I graduated from the edwards in 2004 and man I still keep in touch more or less with my old teachers I participated in the theatre and in the school band wow edwards was the best middle schools the teachers are great they are there for there students and there like a second family in a way never did I think I wouldve graduated from what is considered one of the best middle schools in boston a special thanks to craig haas,Cindy mckeen,Gilberto Rivera,Ted chambers and to the rest of the edwards faculty I may not of manchined


Posted September 7, 2009

hey i am a qraudate of 2009 from this school .! iwas in actinq & stepinq this school is the best ever.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2009

Im a student at this school and i love it. My ela teacher, ms bryan, really helped me become a better writer. I connected with all my teachers, and thats the only school where i felt love, support, and encouragement from the teachers. They have an extended day, and the program is a good thing to have. They took us to tomb, chez vous, and tufts university to name a few of the explorations. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

My son is so happy he doesnt want to miss school he made the honor roll this term only thing i wooried about is high schhool i hope i find a high school just as good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

One of the best schools in the city.The only middle school with a football team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2008

i love this school. it has one of the best programs, activity, teachers, and achedemics. if you are chosing for your child to go to a middle school, let them go to this middle school because its the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

Edwards is a great school with top notch teachers and kids. We have an extended day program that includes additional tutoring for all children and fun cross curricular classes like swimming, soccer, theatre, band, art, cheerleading, and even football. We are proud to be here and working hard. It shows in our MCAS Scores - top in the city - and the smiles on our faces!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 28, 2008

im from the edwards and the program here is great it gives the children something to do as to staying out of trouble
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2008

I think it is a great school. The teachers can't seem to do enough for my child. I have seen a big difference in how y child reads this year. He is also more disciplined and focused. The music program is fabulous. My child stays in more to practice his instrument.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

This school is a hidden gem. It has become one of the new and upcoming schools based on test scores its arts program. Students at the Edwards also get to experience an extended learning day that keeps students occupied and learning for three more hours! Student learning, school pride and teacher satisfaction are apparent. Send your child here if you want them to have a TRUE middle school experience as they learn to become a young adult through having more choices and quality options of classes as well as supportive and loving teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2008

With our test scores now better than the district average raising 20% in MCAS scores in Math for 6th and 7th grade as well as 20% for 7th grade ELA we are now at the top of BPS schools test scores. It is a phenomenal place to work with a strong, goal oriented principal who wants success for every child and supports teachers. A great place to work and go to school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2004

My daughter has attended this school for the last three years. I find the school to be open with parents and teachers are there when you need them. I can go to the school anytime and get any information concern my child anytime. The focus is sucess with the Edwards and it has always been since I went there in the 80's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Female46%
Male41%
African American27%
Asian10%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners13%

Math

All Students49%
Female54%
Male46%
African American21%
Asian80%
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners35%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female58%
Male37%
African American49%
Asian32%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners13%

Math

All Students29%
Female30%
Male29%
African American27%
Asian63%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Title I29%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners19%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Female69%
Male39%
African American56%
Asian33%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Title I54%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners19%

Math

All Students28%
Female34%
Male22%
African American19%
Asian71%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
White12%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Title I28%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners30%

Science

All Students10%
Female10%
Male8%
African American3%
Asian17%
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
White0%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Title I10%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners6%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 16%
Black 17% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
White 8% 67%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 635-8522

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28 Walker St
Charlestown, MA 02129
Phone: (617) 635-8516

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT