Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public district
Chelmsford, MA
Students enrolled: 915
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school, teachers and education. My son loves his teachers, and they have a great anti-bullying program, link on their website. 7th grade offers technical engineering classes.

Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a teacher
I have taught at several schools in my career, and consider myself fortunate to be at McCarthy. The principal is supportive of the staff, their special needs programs are integrated and well-funded, and the school, students, teachers, administration, and other staff work to achieve a sense of community that can only be created through conscious effort.


Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted July 26, 2009
- a student
i love it here! they make sure if something goes wrong they fix it, and they have a big bullying policy that is actually used. the teachers are very smart and friendly, and the schedule is easy to follow.

Mccarthy Middle School
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a student
I do like going to McCarthy...there are a lot of bullying programs held at our school. I am on the split team as an 8th grader but I can't say that it is a bad thing. My favorite teacher is definitely Mr. Asselin.

Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2007
- a student
Its awsome and I love going there with all the smart teachers especially mrs. Kelly


Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
I have one daughter in the 8th grade and another in the 5th grade. Although we're now on our 3rd principal in 4 years, the school has consistently supported our daughters in their learning and development. The music program has also gone through as many changes, but it is still very good. I agree with the other parent, that Mr. Gallagher, now grade 8 Algebra, is a fantastic math teacher. Also, the guidance department and all teachers work with the whole child, always available to answer parent questions or concerns. A great school with a professional, caring and responsive faculty and staff. Now if they can just fix the heating.

Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted October 09, 2006
- a parent
My son is in his 2nd year at McCarthy and he enjoys going there. I like the music program and the extracurricular activities. We attended both his concert and the play he was in. I agree with the other reviewer that the school does need to be updated for air conditioning. The school is beginning to show its age. I feel comfortable sending my child there each day. I met his teachers and like them. The PTO is involved here.

Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted December 29, 2005
- a parent
Excellent leadership, the music curriculum (orchestra and chorus) has suffered the past year but Mr. Gallagher (7th grade math) makes up for it! Especially pleased with how the whole district handled the end of 05 'dizziness' episode. They did great keeping the kids safe and keeping parents informed via the automated phone system.


Mccarthy Middle School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2005
- a parent
Ok school. Needs much improvement! update classrooms,needs airconditioning! those poor kids in the summer are roasting!!good teachers! especially gr5.{Ms dowling, mrs.P, mrs grady. Never mind about the pretty new windows just in front. What about the classrooms too!

Mccarthy Middle School 5

Posted June 18, 2004
- a parent
I am very happy that our child goes to McCarthy. She has improved 200%. Thanks

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccarthy Middle School
250 North Road, Chelmsford, MA  01824
(978) 251-5122
Last modified Mccarthy Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccarthy Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top