Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
301 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holyoke Catholic High School 1

Posted February 22, 2015
- a student
A year or two ago I would have given HCHS a 5 star rating. I transferred from a bad public school experience in sophomore year, and the school was a wonderful place for two years. I am currently a senior, and I can honestly say this has been one of my worst school years. With the arrival and quick departure of a largely incompetent new principal, the departure of several of the best teachers, and my experience with one especially abusive teacher, I dread to enter this place every morning. This is not a grade-based complaint, I have obtained an honors level GPA, and I was accepted to my top college. Truly I am sorry I can't recommend this school as it was once so nice, but it is not a healthy learning environment anymore.

Holyoke Catholic High School 4

Posted July 01, 2011
- a student
I transfered there as a sophomore and liked it so much I cried on the last day in front of everybody :) The kids are really nice and welcoming! My only problem was a few of the teachers teaching skills or lack there of. But besides that, I was really happy there!


Holyoke Catholic High School 5

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
The new principal is doing a great job bringing school spirit to Holyoke Catholic. The academics challenges the students and definitely prepare them for college. It is a terrific school. I have 2 children attending now and cannot say enough positive things.

Holyoke Catholic High School 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a student
Holyoke Catholic provided me with an education that allowed me to excel in college. The teachers are extremely caring and the guidance councilors are great at preparing all students. While I attended while it was in Granby (it is now in Chicopee), I can only imagine how great the school is now with the new facilities.

Holyoke Catholic High School 4

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
My son graduated from Catholic two years ago. I am impressed with the care, service and guidance of counselor, Admissions Direction and Financial Personnel. My son left with many great friends and fond memories of his high school years. As a parent this is pleasing.


Holyoke Catholic High School 4

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
Despite what other reviewers say, Holyoke Catholic is a very good school. this 2008/2009 semester we are moving to a new facility in Chicopee that has a brand new lab, art room, and music room for our well known A cappella choir. The student body is small, around three hundred students, and the teachers take the time to help students of all levels. The drama club is extremely popular among students, as well as the fall play. Although sports aren't the school's strongest point, the track teams and swimming teams seemingly always dominate.

Holyoke Catholic High School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Both my son and daughter graduated from HCHS. They loved it , in Holyoke and Granby.It is more than a school it is home.It prepared SO WELL for college. I cannot say enough how great that school is.

Holyoke Catholic High School 3

Posted July 16, 2007
- a student
Holyoke Catholic was amazing when it was in Holyoke. The leadership was well organized and held just the right pressure on students. The freedoms we were allowed on the open campus forced us to be accountable for our attendence, actions, and education much like a college experience. After the move, most everything changed. The new leadership stifled creativity in favor of complete control. I was very happy to graduate in '04. However, it must be said that most teachers still went above and beyond. If there were a wider range of electives and AP courses, I would feel more confident in rating HCHCS higher than average.


Holyoke Catholic High School 5

Posted April 30, 2004
- a student
Holyoke Catholic fostered my education in more ways that I could have asked for. I was a transfer student from a public school and had little background in english or mathematics. I learned writing skills, and math better than I could have asked for. The professors made time for me after school every day for weeks and now I am a senior in college, with a 3.9GPA and I owe it all to the supportive academic atmosphere of Holyoke Catholic.

Holyoke Catholic High School 1

Posted April 11, 2004
- a student
Horrible, dont ever go to HCHS. It's like catholic bootcamp. No freedoms, little respect, your opinions are always wrong if not agreed with. There is no difference between HCHS and a public high school, except the price. Once a teacher dissaproves of you, your stuck in a rut and you cannot change it. HCHS has no science labs, so my science class consisted of watching movies such as CaddyShack and Billy Madison, by the way I am not complaining about that, just thought my tuition money should be going to something more educational. I do not reccommend HCHS, and I am not a parent, I am a student from the class of '03.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holyoke Catholic High School
134 Springfield Street, Chicopee, MA  01013
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (413) 331-2480
Last modified Holyoke Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top