Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hampden Charter School Of Science
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
The curriculum is great..their way of handling conflicts is poor..that's because they can't afford to lose their income

Hampden Charter School Of Science
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
This school allows children to do what they want and they disguise everything with dps points which really only apply to classes not human beings. .children are constantly being bullied but nothing is done because they can not afford to lose the children that come from poverty stricken neighborhoods because they would lose their grants. So the good children must suffer the constant bullying that is allowed in that school. .school officials lie claiming that situations have been dealt with, but it's a decoy for patents to stop investigating the schools policies..sad indeed


Hampden Charter School Of Science 2

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
I fell for the numbers and ratings of this school..however I found out from the higher ups how they dismiss a lot of things in order to keep their ratings up. .that claim that there are no fights yet shool children claim that there are fights every day and teachers just walk away. Supposedly they have a strict bullying code..which means absolutely nothing. They sweep allot of things under the rug, and when u ask about the situation they claim not to be able to go into detail but assure u actions have been taken. .when in actuality they just dismiss it. This is because they can't afford to lose any children from Springfield which makes up 65% of the school because they would not qualify for the grants. So sad because the school curriculum offers so much but the children are our of control!

Hampden Charter School Of Science 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Hampden Charter School of Science deserves the five stars. Here is why. 1. HCSS serves the students from Chicopee, Ludlow, Springfield, and West Springfield. 2. Low Income Population: 71% 3. HCSS is a Level 1 (top level) with the proven provider school status in the state of MA. 4. HCSS has been ranked #1 in Math and #2 in ELA in the state of MA based on student growth percentile (SGP) in 2015 10th grade MCAS results. 5. HCSS was ranked #1 in the state of Massachusetts based 2014 10th grade MCAS results.(Both proficiency rates and median student growth percentile) 6. HCSS got 100% of four-year college acceptance first, second, and third graduating classes.

Hampden Charter School Of Science 5

Posted December 28, 2014
- a student
I love this school! I am in 6 th grade and all the teachers are all supportive and make sure you are doing successfully. I was mostly into math and not that much into science but now I really am I have a 94 in science when it was usually a 90 and my math is a 99 also we get to check our grades whenever and see what our homework is online. This school is into technology a lot. They try to challenge you and I have seen other students who are struggling with the challenge, they aren't struggling for a long time because a teacher will help them right away. This school also has after school programs for everyone I am in science Olympiad and I used to be in volleyball but then it had to stop. They also have cheerleading, math club, and robotics. There's much more other than that. This school is also really in top of things. I love this school and I know great things will happen at this school for me.


Hampden Charter School Of Science 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
HCSS is a good school. Small class sizes, accelerated instruction, safe environment, strong discipline, full time college councilor, and some very good teachers are the reason why we sent our children to this school and why they have succeeded.

Hampden Charter School Of Science 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
Great School!!!!! My Child graduated there last year. Today she is a college student studying to become a Physicians Assistant at a private four year college. I highly recommend the school to any parent looking for structure,respect,safety and most of all great education

Hampden Charter School Of Science 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is extraordinary. The education is amazing. The teachers really go one one one with the kids. MCAS scores are AMAZING! My child went from needs improvement in a public school to advanced in this charter school. I highly recommend this school!


Hampden Charter School Of Science 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is absolutely amazing, the teachers really care, and the advanced curriculum allows for students to catch up with their global peers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hampden Charter School Of Science
20 Johnson Road, Chicopee, MA  01022
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (413) 593-9090
Last modified Hampden Charter School Of Science is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top