Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boston Latin Academy

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 1680 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2013

I went here in from 9th grade in 2003 to graduation in 2007. Most of the staff, administration, and many teachers could not care less about you a human being. There none of them understood that life outside the school walls like family and work affected your performance in school. Guidance counselors included were of no support. Many a times when students in math class would have a question about the material, the teacher would respond "it's in the book." How funny, because I read the book, and now I have a question. The book is not getting paid a salary to teach. Thanks for nutritious honey buns for breakfast every morning, and the vitamin packed pizza and dry tater tots every lunch. Thank goodness the school is right next to McDonalds for an even healthier alternative. The staff must look at the student as a whole, speak with them one on one, guidance counselors and teachers alike. Teachers need to teach, not just relay info and mark whether it was regurgitated back properly. Guidance counselors should guide, actually help each grade instead of popping up just at the end of senior year. The one positive change was implementing the rotating schedule and activities period.


Posted April 6, 2013

Really this school is just a wannabe of Boston Latin School. It does not specialise in anything in particular ( Boston Latin School specialises in humanities and The O'Bryant specialises in Math and Science). Kids here do not seem to be motivated by anything. You'll be lucky to get into Umass Amherst If you go here. Teachers are okay and Administration sucks. Thank god I transfered out of this school to O'Bryant I can say that I am happy now that I will be attending Harvard next semester.


Posted February 27, 2011

I am a senior here and I know that our school would be a lot better if they stopped dumbing down the exam test and had FEDERAL FUNDING. It is hard to be happy at a school that doesnt have cetain sports, and cannot afford to get new books or buy a printer that does not give teachers problem every week. It is also hard for a teacher when the education system itself is changing into something worse than it already was. And to make matters worse, the government is having budget cuts towards education again.


Posted November 1, 2010

BLA has some great teachers but administration is bad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

i go to this school now and i hate it. we don't have any paper most of the times. we also don't have toilet paper. i would not recommend this school. i honestly want to leave it because i do not like the sports there or the education.


Posted April 20, 2010

My grandson attend there and has done exceptionally well. It's is an excellent academic school particular for math and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

Boston Latin Academy gives a lot of support to its students. Many teachers and students help each other out and the curriculum is based on the classics and Latin. However, there are some students who can't take the challenge and there are some teachers who give no support at all. Overall the school is a great school but some students and teachers slack off.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2010

Great school! I am currently a seinor and although I dreaded going to school daily, doing homework daily, it worked out for THE BEST! I have challenged myself in and out of school, met great people, and learned to push myself out of my comfort zone. This school is SO diverse, it's great! After being here for 6 years, I have been given/seeked for so many opportunities at BLA. I even job shadowed an employer at IBM through BLA's PIC office and applied for an internship with IBM over the summer. There are many activities that I have found through BLA that helped to enlighten and shape who I am today. I'm sure with the motivation to perservere and the knowledge given by a range of teachers, this experience at a college-prep school will definately prepare me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

I have 2 children currently enrolled at this school. My oldest graduated in 08 from BLA. I love the experiences and education that my children have received here. The faculty and staff are very receptive and helpful. I have always felt that my children are safe and are treated as individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I am currently a student at Boston Latin Academy and i have been for 5 years now almost. The teachers here are amazing. There are, of course, the stern older teachers that abide by 'old school' methods of teaching - which is fine, i mean this is a college preparatory school. There are also the new, young teachers who have fun and different approaches to education. All teachers give you the utmost respect, as long as they receive it back. Extra help is ALWAYS there when i need it, but individual attention in class is of course difficult with classrooms being filled to capacity. I feel like i have the upper hand then most students around the US going into college, and i feel i will do well once i get there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

I am a current student at BLA. I love it and have met most of my best friends there. The teachers are awesome when you show them willingness to learn. It gives a good amount of homework and work to prepare you for college and extra help is always available if the student is willing to take the time for it. Although some people have written it has a 'sink or swim' environment I completely diagree. In 7th grade when i entered the school my teachers were all welcoming and there for us when we needed them. I have been given amazing opportunities for outside activities and sports. I am currently cheerleading for the school and have more than loved it. Sports are an amazing way to fit in and I have met amazing people. I am proud to say I go to BLA and will be proud to graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2008

This school is a good place for learning as far as i know from my experience. However, it is not a very nurturing environment for individuality. I'm a goth and i have very few friends, and often feel very depressed even though i have an A&B report card
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

I went to BLA for 4 years. It was not the best school in the country. It is outstanding comparing to others in the area. They have some very good teachers there. Having that said, I did find the quality of the school is going down. Many good teachers/administrators are leaving the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

I am a sixie [7th Grade] at BLA nd this school is just amazing from the staff to the students! The only complaint i have is for the luch! The lunches are not very good! Especially the pizzas they look greasy and fake! But they do provde vending machines which i think is an excellent idea and they are quite healthy! This school provide great extracurricular activitiess! With great sports that many will enjoy! This is my first year there and i hope that i graduate from this marvelous school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

I'm a former student at Boston Latin Academy who attended the entire six years, and I must agree with several of the student reviewers that many of the teachers (and also most of the administration) are more concerned with their own agendas than with the welfare of the students. It can be a very discouraging environment in which to learn, although there have been several teachers who are very caring and concerned with students understanding and enjoyment of the subjects. Unfortunately, an average student can fall through the cracks very easily and eke by on a low GPA. BLA is certainly not the best school in the country (or the city), but it does have its upsides: the sports curriculum is strong and varied and (at least at the time of my attendance) the music department was interesting and fun. I wouldn't discourage any parents from enrolling their child there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2008

I am a parent with an 8th grader that attends BLA. I am thrilled with the school as my son is doing well and I have had great feed back by the teachers at BLA. My youngest son is a 6th grader and I am having him pick BLA as his first choice over Boston Latin, as I love this school and feel comfortable there and how well my son is doing. I am very happy so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

As a former student at boston latin academy I can say that it was one of the best experiences in my life I can hardly wait to get up in the morning .They provide you with so many scholarships and opportunities to succeed later in life. Although teachers may disagree with students or students may not be on like terms with the teachers, it is still one of the best schools to put your child into
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

im at bla rite now and its the best skool ive ever been to. I met really great friends there and they teachers make it fun and easy to learn difficult things they really help you out when you need it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

I totally agree with this young man (Mr. Johnson). To date, I am less than impressed with that school. I have 2 children there and it certainly fosters a sink or swim environment. There are few teachers that care, some are apathetic or merely concerned about their own agenda. Some of the teachers are not that great at teaching either. RPJ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

i've been at boston latin academy for three years & i can't stand it here. the teachers only focus on how bad the students are & who does bad. they don't care about how well you do in other subjects or you're personal ideas, but just how well you behave & what you're grades are like. right now as a student i'm doing extremely well in english, i am over the top & i love to read & write & my teacher loves me. but because i'm doing bad in math, that's all they care about, & i can't take it. i'm leaving next year, & i can't wait
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male93%
African American95%
Asian98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students77%
Female77%
Male76%
African American73%
Asian88%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title I77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
African American74%
Asian89%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Title I73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female34%
Male51%
African American47%
Asian55%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Title I42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Title I100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Title I100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female91%
Male96%
African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title I93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Students93%
Female91%
Male96%
African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title I93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

94%

Average SAT score

1613

Graduation rate

98%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 28% 67%
Black 27% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 6%
Hispanic 20% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 635-6696

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 Townsend St
Dorchester, MA 02121
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 635-9957

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



King K-8
Dorchester, MA


King K-8 School
Dorchester, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT