Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tech Boston Academy

Public | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

My school is... Great, the education that they provide for me as a freshman student is the Best i have received in the city of Boston MA, and Norwood, MA. The teachers and every staff member is very enthusiastic with the students and show them and the parents the respect... They treat you as if you where a family member, they do not accept the term "I Can't". They truly follow the Quote for the school "We Rise And Fall Together"... The principal is also very nice, and profound about what he says to each student. When he speaks to me and all the students in the school, he does it in a way... It gets in your mind, he gives a very profound speech each and every time... Me working along side with him, fighting for more student voice in the school and outside of school for the district... I mean, President Barack Obama didn't come to our school for nothing.


Posted May 22, 2012

I attended TechBoston Academy (TBA) for four years and graduated in 2007. As a student, I was given a laptop with numerous software to complete assignments for classes over the years. Our laptops were flooded with so much programs that it was almost impossible to navigate their our work without a memory failure causing us to lose work frequently. During my years at TBA, I had over ten "missing" laptop batteries causing me to be behind my assignments. The staff at TBA would take a little over three weeks to replace my batteries for my laptop which was required to complete assignments. Some software were hundreds of dollars so I had no way to pay for them and do my classwork and homework that I would not be able to do in school because of this situation. The principals and teachers did not care much for my problem and I ended up staying after school everyday for the allowed time (around an hour) to complete eight hours of school work and homework assignments. As for the previous review about favoritism, I agree. with the poster. I had some friends during senior year pass their finals who never taken the tests because a teacher "believed" they knew all the answers.


Posted July 19, 2011

I do believe this is a GREAT school. I however have a problem with some favortism towards students who they feel is so great. All children, all colors, and grade level should be treated equal. In my eyes I thought well behaved and hard working students are all GREAT students.I don't think staff should look the otherway and reward in many ways ill mannered students and students who harass other people.Bullying is high and ignored in this school and some staff has spoken up others look the other way.I would like to be able to speak up for my children without backlash for them. Also, when parents write staff they should respond.If these matters that I mentioned get resolved, this school would be five instead of three stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

This school sucks. bad learning environment, teachers who picks favorites and ignore the rest. There's so much to say but I wouldn't want to spend 8 hours writing about all the flaws with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

There are many things I love about working at TechBoston Academy, but I think my favorite part of my work is being able to watch my students learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

They have the best teachers!!!


Posted October 3, 2009

TechBoston is a promise to students that success is a reality. Creativity, social activism, individualized learning, and interdisciplinary studies all allow students access to uncovering knowledge and embracing their roles as scholars. Students access learning through technology, and honestly end up teaching the teachers. They embrace their love for technology and they are given content for which to apply it. Every student can succeed and for that, I love being there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

It is a place where students know education is key and that they are supported in a caring environment; that no one is going to give up on them!! Go TBA!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

The caring, nurturing community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

great teachers.....highly qualified...wish it had its own athletic teams and didnt share with another school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It's a strong community that encourages excellence in both its student body and faculty. Each teacher brings strengths and unique talents to bring out the best in each of our students. With a strong personal touch, teachers and students unite to reach high standards so that our students can succeed and excel
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2009

Good model, principles, core of a pilot school. Dedicated teachers. Wish it focus more on actual college preparatory while I was there. TBA alumnus
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

My daughter is a freshman.I can't believe for the first time she feels safe. The entire staff is helpful and treats everyone as equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

I attend this school and has a great learning enviorment and great teachers!


Posted February 4, 2008

I think TechBoston is a excellent school, they only have 15 students per class so its easier for the kids to learn,they have sports, thet provide all types of ways to use technology,they have extended day to help students with their needs in the academic area,they have great teachers,they have good MCAS scores and they give you scholarships and internships and a summer program, a labtop is provided for every student and it is used through out the rigorus curriculum
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 635-1622

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Peacevale Road
Dorchester, MA 02124
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 635-1615

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Matthew School
Dorchester, MA



Greenwood K-8 School
Dorchester, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT