Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Murphy K-8 School 2

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
The Richard Murphy use to be an excellent school! My son has been attending the school since he entered K2 and is now an 8th grade student at the school. I have to agree with a rating that someone gave the school on Google, the principal now walks around in high heels talking to the kids (some kids) any old kind of way. By experience I know she will call me saying we need to meet because my son this or that, to then have to come out and YES APOLOGIZE because she did not take the time to get a full story before she calls wanting to suspend a student. I have heard my son and a few friends complain about how she speaks to students, yelling in their faces. In regards to Teachers, I must say the majority that I have dealt with throughout the years have been really good, one here and there but overall teachers, location are good. You could walk in the office and the office staff are talking about their personal business and will not greet you and acknowledge you immediately, they finish their personal conversation before one will say, Can I help you?

Murphy K-8 School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is IMPOSSIBLE to get into, especially if you live IN the actual neighborhood. Try to get a seat, but don't expect to get in... unless you live on the other side of Dorchester.


Murphy K-8 School 4

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
This school is great. My son goes there for the 6th grade and all of the teachers are really nice and caring. I would recommend this school to anyone wanting a new elementary school to go to. Go Murphy Thunder! :D

Murphy K-8 School 0
no rating

Posted July 25, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. My stepson's 5th Grade Teacher was so caring and encouraging. She even attended one of his theatre performances. I love the high expectations and the fact that teachers don't give up on their students even the ones with learning disabilities.

Murphy K-8 School 5

Posted June 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Murphy K-8 School 0
no rating

Posted March 18, 2009
- a parent
The teachers make that school awesome. They care so much about the students. But the other staff (principal and asst principal) don't care too much.

Murphy K-8 School 5

Posted January 18, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Murphy K-8 School 2

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
Daughter has Add...they provide no tutoring or assistance in any way!!! My sons school goes out of their way to accomodate, sadly the Murphy could care less!


Murphy K-8 School 5

Posted May 12, 2008
- a parent
This school has a lot of students going to the three exam schools. Both of my daughters are now going to the Boston Latin School and they were in the Murphy from 4th grade to the 6th grade.

Murphy K-8 School 5

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murphy K-8 School
1 Worrell St, Dorchester, MA  02122
(617) 635-8781
Last modified Murphy K-8 School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murphy K-8 School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top