Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dorchester Academy

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2009

This school has its downs but what school doesn't i am attending this school now and i love it ; i get my work done and the teachers are always on point . This school is a different school now but it would always be the Woodrow Wilson to me .
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

This was my favorite school to attend. The teachers were the greatest and Mrs. Bonjorno was the best, plus the creative writting teacher was awsome when I attended that school. I wonder if they still have my creative writting assignment for how we got our last names. (mrs butterworht how much is your butter?)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Hi I am the crossing guard down at Dorchester Ave and Mericer St. I just wanted to let you all know that 95% of the young adults I cross are very polite. Yes I will admit that the language they use can be hard and I do ask that they not use it. I also have them thinking about the litter when coming out of the store. I did get they city to put one trash barrel at the bus stop so it is a start. When I tell them to enjoy the day they response with a thank you and then tell me to do the same. I graduated from the 'Woodie' back in the day and have fond memories of the school.


Posted January 16, 2008

I have had a few problems in this school, classmates picking at me for silly reasons. I like my school, I just wish the silliness would stop. Mrs. Gates is a very stern but, I like her very much, as well as all of the other staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2008

I think the Wilson Middle school has come a long way. Although, I feel it still has a way to go as far as safety in and on the outside school grounds. Mrs. Gates does try very hard to things. As we move on to high school I hope to meet peStaff like the past and some present teachers like Mrs. Mellenthine, Mr Lowe Mrs. Young and as always school RN. Mrs. Allukian. We will never forget any of you.EVER!handle things,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

I think this is the best schoool in the world I do not know why every one say it is a bad school it is not at all I sent my kid to the gavin and I took him out because he was getting picked on my kid never had no promblems at this school this schould be the only school in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

Beware this school. I worked as a teacher there for a very short time and then resigned due to the school's lack of safety and terrible administration. This school is nothing more than a battleground and should be shut down immediately.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2005

I've visited the school and am hired as a teacher for the 2005-2006 school year. I'm impressed by the dynamic and committed principal and the climate of community and safety. Overall, the staff is down to earth, highly skilled/ qualified and hold high expectations for all learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2005

i was a former student of this school 23 years ago and i still remember it fondly. at one time it did have a bad reputation for fighting, but it wasn't true. it's a pretty good school, at least when i attended.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18 Croftland Avenue
Dorchester, MA 02124
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 635-9730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Tech Boston Academy
Dorchester, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT