Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Dracut, MA
Students enrolled: 622
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
School Department is severely underfunded by the town. All students are required to bring in supplies for the classroom because otherwise the teacher would be required to spend a lot of money because they are not supplied with any budget for supplies. There is no WiFi in the schools and the students are using 1 computer per classroom which is at least 20 years old. Most do not work at all. The teachers and students work hard with what little support they have from the town. If you value education funding as a huge issue do not send your kids to this school system.

Brookside Elementary School 3

Posted September 04, 2011
- a parent
I was a parent at Brookside for 3 years. We have moved from Dracut this year and left with mixed feelings. Our expericence with he staff at Brookside was mostly positive. The principal, Mr. Galello was avalible and open to discussion. He was fair but not a push over. One teacher we had was wonderful. one seemed ready to retire. There are some PARENTS with a chip on their shoulder that want to distroy the school. i am happy to not be around those that were LOUD, NEGITIVE and SELFISH. The PTO worked very hard.I wish the school had more support.


Brookside Elementary School 3

Posted September 04, 2011
- a parent
I am so so happy to have discovered that our school's scores have soared in 2010. (click on test scores) What ever the principal and teachers are doing keep it up! My son is so happy here!

Brookside Elementary School 3

Posted March 30, 2011
- a parent
Most teachers are really dedicated, great teachers. But the not so good teachers are not held accountable. Repeating First grade is considered acceptable and "normal" here. We needed a principal, but got a strutting peacock. No leadership whatsoever. This is his second year, and I am now hearing that his contract has been extended. Too bad for the kids. My straight-A child, who used to love school, cannot wait to get out of this school. Already broken by the school system by 4th grade. How sad is that? P.S. Dracut Special Ed is one of the worst in the state. They would rather pay huge legal fees than provide the services the kids need. The SPED teachers are great, but there is absolutely no help or support from the school administration and it is nearly impossible to get services. Don't move to Dracut if you need SPED services.

Brookside Elementary School 1

Posted December 19, 2010
- a parent
Severely underfunded. Tiny building bursting at seams w/640 students and a tiny cafeteria that can barely manage multiple, short lunch shifts. SPED was HORRENDOUS under its last director who, along w/other cronies, recently migrated to Peabody -- POOR PEABODY! Bullying is a HUGE PROBLEM, as is staff quality (for the most part). Too much focus on MCAS scores -- not nearly enough (if any!) on character development and good citizenship. Dracut's children definitely deserve better and are getting it in 2 out of the other 3 Elementary Schools -- poor Parker Elementary's the only one worse off than Brookside. Principal is totally mailing it in and can't get along to save his life w/parents and staff, for the most part. Brookside is definitely worth a tour before even CONSIDERING enrolling your child(ren). 2 Principals so far since my children's enrollment and we're soon to be going on a 3rd! This school is definitely failing its students, parents and staff.


Brookside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
the teachers are great and really work hard for the children

Brookside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
My grandchildren go there and are receiving a good education plus art, music and gym classes; many schools no longer offer those.

Brookside Elementary School 4

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
I have two daughters in the school. For the most part the school is great. I do feel they really couldve done more with secound graders this year. In the past there were many more firld trips and they only had one this year and it was to the movies. My daughter was very upset about that. But we do love the teachers.


Brookside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
We entered into this school in mid October after moving from out of town. The principal and all of the teachers and staff made my children feel right at home. They are great communicators when it comes to the children. I have a child in kindergarten and a child in the third grade and have been very happy with both teachers. There is always some kind of event involving the children and parents. My favorite so far has been the mother son dinner and a movie! they also do a father and daughter dance so as not to leave anyone out! Keep up the great work!

Brookside Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2008
- a parent
This school is more concerned with MCAS scores than seeing that the children really understand what they should be learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brookside Elementary School
1560 Lakeview Avenue, Dracut, MA  01826
(978) 957-0716
Last modified Brookside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brookside Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top