Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maple

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2013

Maple is what an elementary school should be. It has a strong community feel, the teachers are caring and incredibly talented, the parents are involved and the kids are thrilled to go to school everyday. They do very well on their MCAS scores and offer lots of support to students who might be struggling, including small groups and Reading Recovery. My only wish is Easthampton would support the building of a new school, but I do fear losing the small, personal feel of Maple. It really is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

Maple School is a wonderful place for young children to learn and grow. Although the facilities are aged, they have many positive attributes (large classrooms with en suite restrooms for students, huge windows, flower and vegetable gardens, age-rated play structures), and are conducive to learning at the elementary level. Even more importantly, the teachers and support staff are remarkable in their talent and dedication to the students. Both of our children have had outstanding experiences, both in general education, and in the special education services that our oldest child has received since Pre-K. Lastly, the vibrant community lends an enormous amount of support to the students and their families. Parents are incredibly involved, and there is a wonderful sense of connectedness and belonging. We're proud to be a Maple School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

We were lucky to send both of our kids to the Maple Pre-K program. The teachers, staff and support at the school always made me feel that my kids are getting a super education. I have a daughter graduating from Pre-K and son finishing up 1st Grade. My son needed extra support and encouragemnet in various areas. He received it thru speech, reading recovery, friendship group and a special plan from his teacher. I am in the school on a daily basis and see the creative learning my kids are enjoying through their wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

The full name is Maple Street School. I have my son in there and I love it, having to move soon and can't find a place in Easthampton, it will be hard to find a school like it. My son entered PreK with Miss Patty with a speech therapy IEP. His speech has greatly improved with her and Joan Loveless the speech therapist. I love this school. Throughout the year my son has been re-evaluated and has had 3 additions to his IEP including one called 'safety' for his clutziness. Except for daily notes, parents are updated on everything. An automated system calls you by 730 if school is canceled and also includes any events coming up. I dont understand how it only gets a 6 on this site, because even though the school is OLD, the teachers and staff are friendly, helpful and plan amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I am so pleased with my child's beginning experience at Maple. The school has a lovely sense of community and connectedness. The teachers administrators and support staff are helpful and welcoming. When my child races to the door in the morning at the sound of the line-up bell smile on face friend in hand I know Maple is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Female42%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Title I18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students43%
Female52%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Title I9%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Female43%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students42%
Female40%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 68%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Asian 3% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (413) 529-1599

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7 Chapel St
Easthampton, MA 01027
Phone: (413) 529-1550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Center School
Easthampton, MA


Neil A Pepin
Easthampton, MA




Tri-County Schools
Easthampton, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT