Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Antioch School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fall River

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

This is my daughters 5th year at Antioch. We love the small classroom size and family like environment. My daughter is in 2nd grade ( she did 2 yrs of preschool) and is reading at a 6th grade level. Her math skills are great and her vocabulary is amazing. She is 7 years old and I could not be happier with her academically! The social aspect of the school is great as well she has grown up with the children that are now in the 6th,7th and 8th grades and therefor has no fear in giving speeches and presentations in front of them. ( yes she has given speeches and presentations already!) I would and do recommend Antioch to all my friends and family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

I love this school! This was our first year and could not be more happy. The small class room size and student to teacher ratio is amazing. The teacher was informative on a daily basis. It is a warm and friendly environment among other parents and teachers. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

This school did not adhere to the mission to provide a safe and nurturing academic environment for my child. I wasted over $9K in two years for my child to be a victim of humiliation tactics by his teacher. My child now scored the highest grade in NECAPS in public school and is recognized as an exemplary student both academically and behaviorally in his public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

Not worth the tuition. No gym. The Principal stood by when I inquired about applying for my child and never introduced himself. Not a welcoming environment. There is no gym. Students use the main room for cafeteria and gym. Last year, an employee fried his shirt in the microwave. Look elsewhere before you jump into this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

After researching many private schools in the MA and RI vicinity I was incredibly impressed with Antioch's philosophy, curriculum, and overall interest they take each their student's education. My daughter is the in Pre-K class and I am impressed with how positive of an atmosphere there is at this school The teachers are able to chat and give a synopsis my daughter's day wuth a face to face progress report when I pick her up. This school/community has been a pleasure to be a part of overall and would suggest Antioch as an excellent choice for any parent for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

Excellent school! Small classes, attentive teachers and happy students! This is the 3rd year my daughter attends this school and we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

Took the tour and enjoyed it, but am glad we decided against sending our kiddo there. A friend's kiddo is being treated like real garbage, while another pulled her kiddo, opting for a (GASP!) public school, because the social environment is BETTER at the public school. Save your money, we did!


Posted March 31, 2012

I went to this school nearly 15 years ago and it tremendously jump started my education. I am currently attending The University of California at Santa Barbra and could not be any happier!


Posted January 30, 2010

My children went here and loved it. Now my grandson is enrolled and loves it too. It's a wonderful place to entrust your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

Entering this school is like a breath of fresh air, relaxing and invigorating at the same time. A great learning environment for academics and life experience.


Posted January 29, 2009

This School is amazing and I love the tachers and kids!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Black 3% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 16%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

618 Rock Street
Fall River, MA 02720
Phone: (508) 673-6767

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Morton Middle School
Fall River, MA


Holy Name School
Fall River, MA




Acese
Fall River, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT