Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edmond P Talbot Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2012

i am going into 8th grade this year at talbot and i love it if u ask me it is the best school. although i have not been to any of the other middle schools in fall river i find talbot the best. talbot isnt the most fun or technologicly advanced like kuss or atlantis charter but we are prepared. when it comes to any subject discipline isnt a problem,but most of the kids that leave talbot in 8th grade have better chances of going to good high schools like diman or bristol agy or bishop connely and if they go to dyrfee are in a.p. classes. all i can really say is talbot gives us a good education,and a good mindset that if we work hard enough we can achieve anything.


Posted January 8, 2012

I am a student at talbot its terrible i'm in 7th grade and we cant get through one one lesson the kids always talk and gets in trouble it cuts down from my learning time. FIND A BETTER SCHOOL!


Posted January 3, 2010

I am a student at Talbot.I love it the teachers r great and nice.they do anything to help the students to help them with there grades like they have homework club.I think it is the best middle school in fall river
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

I was a student at Talbot for only half a year. But in that short time it was a life-changing experience. The teachers weren't just teachers, they were friends; friends that we could talk to if we were having family trouble or even friend trouble. They didn't speak down to us as students; they spoke to us like human beings who were just younger than themselves. I think the uniforms helped make Talbot a better school and in my opinion Talbot is the best middle school in Fall River. If you're moving to Fall River with a teenager and don't know which school is the best for your child you shouldn't even have to think. Talbot is awesome and it helps out all the children who are troubled and even the children who aren't to get better. I learned a tremendous amount from the teachers and students at Talbot. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

this school has to muhc descrimination, nothing is done to the others who get in trouble, and this school is unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I am a student at Talbot and I love it there! The teachers are so nice and friendly and they do anything to to help kids get good grades. This school has improved greatly over the last few years,especially since they started with uniforms.It is probably the best midle school in Fall River!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2007

omg i love this school it was awsome everyone was always very kind and they were all very caring and they actually tought me something. i as a graduate (07) am very proud to have my younger brother going to talbot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2007

Having three children, we have had a child at the Talbot Middle School for the past 6 years. Each year we are more and more pleased with the overall educational experience. Principal, Karol Coffin and Vice Principals Deborah Faris and Bill Napert are in the classrooms, hallways, at school events etc. and are very accessable to students and parents. Many wonderful opportunities to bring families into the school are always being planned. Talbot is fortunate to have a strong, while small PTA (please join!) and an active School Council. The teachers are amongst the best in the region! The school uniform program is showing great success. As an out of district family, we renew our decision every year to keep our children at Talbot Middle School and would encourage parents to visit the school and meet with the people who interact with your child. You will be pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

I account Talbot Middle has done a wonderful job painting the class rooms and the way their putting their students first.Also, how their performances show how much work they put into it. I agree it really does also paying for the uniform is money I do not really have.I'm not trying to say the school is doing an awful job I am just saying that the uniform has its goods and 'its' its bads that Talbot Middle has shown parents and students not to never ever give up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

I am a student at Edmund Talbot Middle School and this school has the best teachers in Fall River. I can confirm your child will receive the best at this school and that he/she will pass any test because the teachers reviewed this material. They have encouraging sayings on the walls like 'I won't give up on you, You can do it, Effort makes a difference, and This is important.'The school is safe! The staff will indeed help your child on his/her social environment. This school will meet all of your childs requirments. Hope your child comes!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2004

Talbot is an amazing school. Two of my children go there and they love it. They think the teachers are awesome. And they said they're making the school look nice by painting the walls with four of there 'sayings.' Which are 'You can do it!', 'We won't give up on you', 'This is Important' and 'Effort makes a difference.' I think that they are good and motivate the children to try their hardest. Which is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Female54%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian62%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners6%

Math

All Students24%
Female30%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asian46%
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Title I24%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female53%
Male42%
African American18%
Asian53%
Hispanic23%
Multiracial30%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners14%

Math

All Students21%
Female20%
Male23%
African American18%
Asian34%
Hispanic9%
Multiracial20%
White26%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learners11%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female60%
Male44%
African American52%
Asian50%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners16%

Math

All Students24%
Female31%
Male21%
African American15%
Asian38%
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Title I24%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners8%

Science

All Students14%
Female12%
Male16%
African American10%
Asian13%
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Title I14%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 67%
Hispanic 25% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Black 7% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 675-8356

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

124 Melrose St
Fall River, MA 02723
Phone: (508) 675-8350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Holy Name School
Fall River, MA



Antioch School
Fall River, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT