Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John J Doran

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2013

My son is very happy at Doran and he was also in that class where there was sub after sub and then his teacher went on maternity leave. It was frustrating but I also can recognize that the school was trying to find a replacement but they had to work with what they had. Sometimes things just happen that way and although I wasn't happy one bit about it and made that known to Mrs. Pontes they were trying their best to find someone. I hope this school continues to get better like they have recently by moving out of a level 4 to a level 2. If only there was space to build a field right next to the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

I have two kids that fortunatly are going to middle school and leaving the doran school wich i dont know why they extending it to be a middle school has well since has no conditions to be a school first of all, reasons for my statement are: -Doesn't have a playground (besides the little kiddie playset that you can buy for you backyard), - The access stairs to the main doors are falling apart and becoming a fall hazard to the children and anyone that goes there - The suposed to be handycaped access ramps and walkway dont meet ADA requirements since has steps between the concrete blocks and on the Ponta Delgada Blvd. you have to jump the curb or go al the way to the corner at Columbia St. toget to the closest access ramp, - And the last but more conserning is that they are an under performance school, but i dont think has notting to blame on the kids, since my two 5th graders spent most of the time having substitute teacher thru the year, since one of the teacher left dont know the reason and they clound find a replacement for at least two months, thesecond one had maternaty leave in April. How to expect this kids to have good MCAS scores with that kind of learning(not consecutive)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

Great school, great taechers and a wonderful principal. keep up the good work. My child comes home happy after school. His teacher is fantastic when the children leave, when they see who is picking them up they give her a high five to let them know that someone is here to get them. Good work Miss Howe in keeping our children safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

So far this school has been great for my child. Anti-bullying inside the school is wonderful. I give this school 5 stars. To the parents who attend to there children before and after school-The playground on the site is a great way for the children to relax and have some fun after school. Unfortunetly the parents don't watch there children. My son has been bullied in a way that to some parents is nothing. One boy takes over the monkey bars and he does not care who is on them after him or before his turn and comes full force from the other end or behind the child and makes them jump off the bars so he can go across.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

Doran is a very good school for my son thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My son had a great first year at doran school. He had a great teacher. Unfortunately his second year wasn't the same. He dislikes his teacher, Does not confide in her in any way and only has negative things to say about her. I've walked through the halls and all I can hear is teachers Yelling at our children. I feel they have no patient for children and treat our children wrongly. My child was threatened by another student and they did not take it seriously, but they know how to call you if your child has been acting up in class. I'm glad to say my child is being transferred out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I started at Doran when I was in the first grade and I graduated last year. I loved it there! Doran has an excellent music program, that includes chorus. A wonderful art program, which by the way is my favorite,in art class I learned about different cultures, and ways of art, it was fun! Gym, unfortunatley, is our only sports program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

I have 2 children who attend this school and are doing well. They like their teachers and look forward to school. The principal is wonderful. She's always willing to work with a parent and returns calls on a timely basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
11%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
13%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Female40%
Male13%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I27%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners9%

Math

All Students43%
Female57%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I43%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners18%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Female34%
Male11%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I21%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners11%

Math

All Students13%
Female16%
Male11%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I13%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners11%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Female30%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners7%

Math

All Students40%
Female27%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners29%

Science

All Students7%
Female3%
Male12%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I7%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female42%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students35%
Female32%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 67%
Hispanic 31% 16%
Black 5% 8%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 235-2608

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Fountain St
Fall River, MA 02721
Phone: (508) 675-8225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Anne School
Fall River, MA


St Stanislaus School
Fall River, MA




Antioch School
Fall River, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT