Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Matthew J Kuss Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 626 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Kuss is awesome. I love it here and my teachers are really cool. My VP is tough but super cool. My experience here has been good and I will miss it. There's always things to do after school and we learn about fun stuff. Even though the day is long, it always has something good to offer. Kuss is by far the best school I've ever been to.


Posted March 16, 2014

I am in the eighth grade at Kuss Middle School. This school is great, but I cannot stand it. For example, I was literally stabbed at this school, and nothing happened to the kid who stabbed me. He's even in almost all of my classes! I just can't stand this school anymore. I can't wait to get out of this place.


Posted May 12, 2010

I am a 6G gifted student at Kuss, and find all the teachers helpful and supportive. They listen to your questions and answer them as best they can, although they can sometimes be strict. The school is large and beautiful, but just the right size for the many kids attending. The extended day classes are excellent, and harness creative and fun energies outside of the normal school day. The Kuss Drama Program is amazing and recently won a gold medal for their contest act 'Jane Eyre Life At Lowood', which will also be performed at Kuss in June, along with 'East of the Sun West of the Moon'. Overall, Kuss is a good school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2010

My child is in her second year at Kuss, enrolled in the Gifted & Talented program. The teachers are terrific, the curriculm outstanding, and the administration is very open to parents' ideas & suggestions. The new school building is beautiful & state of the art. We couldn't be happier with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

I am a student here at Kuss, and i have to say that some of the comments that i have read are really irritating. I am student in the gifted class and i find that kuss is an excellent scholl. The teachers are all supportive, knid, and generous. They are all prepared to lend a helping hand a child needs it and i have to give this school top marks. Teachers try extremely hard for students to do their best and improve in everything. I love this school, and as this is my final year here as an eigth grader, i am really upset to be leaving and will definately be coming back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2009

This is the best middle school you could go to. I am in 6-G, on of the GATE classes, and out of the 3 schools ive attended, this is my favorite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2009

i think this school is amazing , it has wonderful opportunitys for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Teachers and administrators all get straight A's on this report card. They all go above and beyond and all reach out to the students. If a student makes the effort to reach out they are all there to answer the call. This school has an extended day program and it works very well. They have a Gifted and talented (GATE) program as well as extra schooling for under acheivers. The extra curricular programs are excellent. If a child fails here it is because the child refused to try. Next year they will be in a brand new state of the art school which has long been needed. With the current faculty this school should excel. The only thing I can see that is really needed is more parent involvement. With a strong parent base and the current faculty and administrators teh students can't lose. It's all a win win situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

My school is truly fun and we learn a lot- i'm in 6th grade, and we are learning cell division, which is taught in High Schools. This school also contains the Gifted And Talented Education (GATE) class, which I am in, and it opens up new doors for learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

This school is using a extended day program, that i believe is enhancing some childrens' talents other than the usual science,math, etc, though these are incorporated in the programs. The school seems to be improving , though it will take sometime. Obviously all parents have a different view as their child is different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

I am shocked to learn that this school is doing so badly. I know they are underperforming but I had no idea it was so bad. My child graduated from elementary school an honor student went to this school and is doing so badly. I'm convinced it has a lot to do with their teaching style. Luckly she had her start in Boston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

This school is a mess. There have been so many changes in the administration that it's hard to keep track. There is no punishment for the bad kids - they get away with everything. My kid is afraid to go there half the time because there is so much crazy stuff going on in the halls and in the classes. The kids are out of control. The teachers (some of them) try hard, but most of the time theres subs instead of teachers. They just put in a new principle and =fired others. School starts in a few weeks and its gonna be crazy again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

I not only find this school lacking in preformance and discipline, I also include the school district. The school is just getting out of hand. Some teachers DO NOT want to teach the way they should, children do not face diciplinary actions at home when in trouble with school. How can we let our schools go to such garbage. This is the worst system and school I 've had to deal with. It's time for a MAJOR overhaul with faculty,staff, and anyone else who doesn't want to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

my daughter goes to this school and it is awful.the school smells bad,the kids always fail MCAS.the school is just dirty.the kids are'learning in poverty'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

I go to kuss and this school is poorly educated.we don't learn much,though the day goes by fast.the teachers arent teaching what they should,and this school has bad leadership.We aren't disiplined,and bullying and harassment is a huge problem in this school.we don't earn grades;the teachers pass them out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2004

this school has awful teachers and bad leadership. it is not the students but the teachers fault. and the auditoruim is a complete mess.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 7, 2004

Well I just need to comment on the lady who home schools her childen. I went to Kuss and I was on my way to quitting school but they put me in a alternative program there and taught me so much about what I'd be missing out on if I quit and I went on to finish High school at Durfee by the way and went on to collage. To me the teachers were nothing but caring and helpful for me to be where I am today all I can do is thank them all for helping me become someone and help me turn my life around.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 28, 2004

This is one of the worst middle schools after two kids going there I will not send my third I decided to home school. They lose paperwork. Teachers are unfair and they don't learn much. My daughter had a sub for a year in french and the teacher couldn't speak it. They took no test but past the kids. If you want your kid to get an education dont send them there or durfee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2004

I went to Matthew J. Kuss Middle School fromm 1997- 2000 for grades 6-8. I had a killer time. I was given the best education a student could possibly receive. The teachers were extremely nice and understanding and helped me through some tough situations. I was involved in som awesome groups like chorus, volleyball, yearbook staff, and enivormental club. There were tech classes like woodworking, sewing, and cooking that made the year fun. I had a great time there. They offer lots of dances and for the graduating eighth graders tons of fun things to do for the end of the year like Field Day, and Dinner Dances. There are tons of field trips, educational and fun. Safety is a big issue there. Cameras outside and they lock the doors from the outside during the day.Very secure! If you are considering this school, make it your choice!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female62%
Male52%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female56%
Male48%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Female73%
Male58%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title I65%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students51%
Female50%
Male51%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Female70%
Male62%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title I67%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male56%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students39%
Female42%
Male36%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 67%
Hispanic 17% 16%
Black 7% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 677-1984

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52 Globe Mills Ave
Fall River, MA 02724
Phone: (508) 675-8335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Stanislaus School
Fall River, MA


St. Anne School
Fall River, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT