Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morton Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 559 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

I am a student in morton middle I think that this school can be come much better if all the stuff had a little bit more patient with use students because I used to have a lot of trouble at the curriculums and I always ask for a small portion of help and they would say you heard the dirction now do it and for that reson I had to got to summer school and let me tell u it was wayyy better then going to the regular class, they helped us more then the regular classes and had more patience then regular teachers, I failed with an average of 45%, at summer school I passed with an average of 98% that would tell u that with a little help and a bit more patience it can go along way. I believe morton can become a very great school, the principle(mrs.rabbitt) is trying her very hardest to bring morton to the top.


Posted May 29, 2012

this use to be one of the best middle schools in fall river.since mrs.fisher took over as principal it is the worst middle school in fall river. why she is still there is beyonf me. most teachers are unhappy and looking to leave. most parents want her gone and don't want to leave their kids there. she has no leadereship skills or communication skills. it's very sad to see how bad this school has become since she became it's principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I must say, this was the worst 3 years of my life, the school is VERY disorganized, the students rule the place, so if you want fun, you got it buddy. You must be thinking? Why did this person give this school 1 star? I'll tell you why... the school is filled with trash (people) the teachers think their better than the student. This school, is ridiculously unacceptable, they make fun of you for any little thing, one time I reported someone for bullying, and the vice-principal made it worse. Great system you have there buddy, this school knows how to do a whole lot of nothing, because that is what you're gonna learn. Send you're kid somewhere else, because they will come out depressed and lonely as I did. Yeah, stay FAR away from this place.


Posted September 10, 2011

what is wrong with these schools today? in my day by the seventh grade we had to co everything in cursive and today i am seeing every student no matter what grade they are in doing all of their homework printing like their still in the second grade. our children still need writing skills, i think they have mastered their printing skills years ago
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

i am a sudent at morton and this school is very unorganized and the staff really doesnt do anything about bullying it just makes it worse im in seventh grade and some of he teachers a nice but many play favorites and is just not fair and i dont think they grade us on our work it seems like hey grade us on how much they like us.the principal is nice and shes trying but morton to me is just awful
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

I go 2 this school it is the best it might be old but it still has pride
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

they have very good teachers and policies


Posted July 23, 2007

My sixth and seventh grade years at morton were in my opinion, terrible. Everyone gets away with skipping classes and doing stuff in the bathroom like smoking and writing all over the walls. In sixth grade, we barely ever had social studies because our teacher wasn't present. And our science classes didn't provide much because we were always skipping from teacher to teacher. Even in seventh grade, our science teacher left the school an she was an awesome science teacher! She was replaced with an inexperianced teacher that barely taught us anything. And when I went to my counselor to settle something, she didn't do anything but tell me the same thing she did last time. I don't think morton does enough for the students. I would rather go to a different school for eighth grade year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2006

I went to Morton from sixth through eighth grade. I do agree that the office staff doesn't do much from bullying (I was a target of bullying). I think they do actual chose favorites and stick to it. I think if someone have done something at the time; I would have excelled in that school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 21, 2006

I think the school is pretty good as far as teachers go. My teacher who was mr. rodrigues well he was different but he taught us more than any other teacher... ever. I'm in eighth grade now and usually I get A's but only when I went to Morton, in elementary I didn't. That's because the teachers are supportive and helpful for your kids problems with anything public, school-related, or personal and home-related. It's important for them to be fair to everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2004

I don't agree with any of the reviews posted except to say that because of the 'no child left beind act' the class size is larger. I've had 2 children attend Morton and they have both done extremely well. I always attended parent teacher conf. and met the teachers and tried to stay involved as best that I could. I found most of the teachers to be excellent. My kids have also excelled on the MCAS which should be a good indication that they are learning what they should be learning. I think that one of the biggest problems in the schools right now is parent involvement. If things arent going perfectly, it isn't ALL the teachers fault. Parents need to get involved and stay involved!!!!!!!! Its amazing to me, when attending things at the school, considering there are close to 1,000 kids at morton, how few parents are there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

From what I've seen this school is very unorganized and can't keep track of all the students in the school. The teachers also play favorites. The office is rude and don't take care of bullying situations. Over all I think this school isn't very good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2003

Because of the 'No Child Left Behind' plan implemented into the Fall River School System, Morton is overcrowded and as a result there are 29-31 students in each class. The other problem is the placement of students. Students are not placed on their academic scores. My child was placed in a class with C & D students when he an A student. This caused him to be very bored last year. The school feels that by doing this they are encouraging diversity, which is not working. I do not recommend this school for these reasons. It is easy for a really good student to get lost very quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This school was and from what I've heard, still is very inequipped to handle students. They have more than the number of students attending there then the building is capable of. Morton also runs low on supplies by the second semester. I, personally, feel it was a terrible school and I learned nothing more than I knew in elementary school. The teachers and staff members are clearly incapable of handeling students and teaching alike. Deffinatley not a good school
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Female43%
Male32%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracial40%
White43%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students31%
Female31%
Male30%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracial30%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female73%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students22%
Female22%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Female56%
Male56%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students32%
Female34%
Male31%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students16%
Female12%
Male20%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 68%
Hispanic 12% 15%
Black 10% 8%
Asian 4% 6%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

376 President Ave
Fall River, MA 02720
Phone: (508) 675-8340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Antioch School
Fall River, MA


Deaconess Home
Fall River, MA


Holy Name School
Fall River, MA


St. Michael School
Fall River, MA


St. Anne School
Fall River, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT