Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Diman Regional Vocational Technical High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1350 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2014

Diman is honestly such an amazing school, all the staff wants is for you to succeed and they make that apparent. They do all they can to make sure your getting all the education you need and deserve. I'm personally in the Dental Assisting shop and I am proud to say so, as well as all the other people in every shop. All the school faculties want is the best for their students. The teacher are also so dedicated to their job. I must also point out that the students are all easy going and nice to everyone, I have never seen "bullying" hard core in my 2 years their, great school and I definitely recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2012

I must say, i do not enjoy my time at Diman. The thing is that, the rules make it seem like you did something wrong, like every day you somehow do something wrong and they make rules like they make candy. The administration, is very strict and don't even bother asking them a question, because they will make you repeat until they think it's "correct", don't really expect any fun here, it's all work and no play, and will make you a dull boy (or girl) the students here, are not accepting, if you are accepted, than you are a lucky one, because if you don't really do what the "big crowd" does than you are an outcast. A lot of people here seem to ignore anyone that is not their friend and will never talk to them. And just about everybody (and I mean EVERYBODY) here talks bad about people. There's a bully rule but who really follows it? And the teachers is like a mixed bag, you can get some great teacher that are cool and know what they are doing or you can get teachers that don't know how to teach and are very unforgiving. To sum it all up, this school has a lot of problems, and they love to make it worse for you, I hate to say the bad news but, you aren't gonna have any enjoyment here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

Diman is a Diamond in the Ruff.. The Administration is wonderful, they ARE for the parents and students. Never have I heard a complaint from any parent or experienced personally a concern brought to Administration that they took lightly, or made you feel that, they are better then you and your concern is not validated. I believe to have a Great School, the right attitude needs to come from the top down, and DIMAN has it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

diman is one of the most amazing schools ever i would encourage parents to send thier kids to this great vocational school. diman works hard to get people the education that they need for thier trade and in academics
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2007

Diman is such an amazing school! I am so proud to be from there. The teachers are so commited to their jobs and never give up on a struggling student. The administration, and guidance consolers are some of the best in the state. When I say the principal is involved he is INVOLVED. He shows up at every game, is at every meeting, and is so easy going. Keep up the great work Diman! I don't want to ever leave there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

I love Diman! Diman does have tight rules & regulations but, children don't mind at all because it's a calm atmosphere. The teachers work hard w/their students and honestly their not just teachers their also, friends, people that can be looked up to, they respect our childrens ideas and dreams and our children respect them as well. I've had teachers call me in the evening to show concern when my child would lack grades or homework assignments. I don't know how many high schools can say the same. Thank you Diman, I can't say enough good about your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

I think that Diman is a great school. The students are respected by all the staff at Diman they are not looked down on at all. Because of this Diman has earned the respect of all students who attend their school. The staff are all very pleasant to deal with and are also very helpful. All of the students seem to be very proud that they get to go to school there. I am very proud to be able to say that my son attends Diman and he is doing very well there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

I think that Diman is a great place to learn and all the students are proud of the school and they are not ashemed to say they attend Diman if you have ever been in the school on a day in witch the basketball teams have a game they where there juerseys or the guys where a dress shirt and a tie they call it team sperit and if they don't they are not allowed to play in the game all of the parent help in getting a child into Diman every day the student are happy to go to school and they have a safe place to go and learn.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I93%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female72%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I80%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female59%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian60%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title I66%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students66%
Female59%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian60%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title I66%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

36%

Average SAT score

1373

Graduation rate

96%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 679-6423

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

251 Stonehaven Rd
Fall River, MA 02723
Phone: (508) 678-2891

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Vincent School
Fall River, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT