Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wayland Academy of Framingham

Private | PK-5 | 27 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Framingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $292,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

We are new this year to The Brighton School. I can not say enough about what a positive change it has been! The curriculum and teachers account for the school's academic excellent and, because of it's small class size, the children learn at their own pace in a relaxed, well structured and warm environment. My children love school now and, as a result, are learning so much. This is what school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

My child is new to what is now the Brighton School of Framingham. We can not say enough positive things about the teachers, curriculum and genuine family environment created at the Brighton. I am amazed at what my child has been exposed to in such a short period of time and am impressed with the exposure she is getting to French, Computers, Science, Yoga and the Arts. A Metrowest hidden gem..small class sizes and reasonable tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

This review is intentionally retrospective. The school changed its name to The Brighton School of Framingham in 2010 following a change in principals. The school is now run by faculty from what I understand. My child attended kindegarten here and is now in public school. The teachers are excellent - very sincere and caring. The educational content is advanced and well designed. The classroom size is small and they mix grades in a room. This allows the child to not get lost in the curriculum or the school. In addition the base curriculum, the child is allowed to progress as far as they want to, especially in the higher grades. Some kids (not all) study material meant for 2-3 grades higher. The school did have quirks because of the (very) small student body. If the school could expand to a larger student population, we would seriously consider sending our child back. I believe kids in this age group need exposure to peers with a wider range of abilities and backgrounds. We lucked out with our child's current public school.


Posted November 17, 2009

Wayland Academy has been a wonderful place for our children. The biggest advantage has been the small size and very caring teachers who know each student individually and figure out the best ways to help him/her grow. The programs and materials are carefully and thoughtfully selected. There is also a nice school spirit there and sense of community, and plenty of opportunities for children to have fun, as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

I have nothing but great things to say about Wayland Academy. Teachers are superb and curriculum is exceptional. Their Math, Science and Reading programs are top notch. Teachers understand different kids learn at different pace and encourage independent learning. Most of the learning are project based which makes it fun. If your kid is bored in the current school and needs some accelerated learning, this is the place to go. Only negative is the school's lack of a good sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

We have had all six of our children attend this school, including one daughter who just graduated from MIT. You cannot beat a school with small classroom size, curricula adapted to the individual student and loving care from faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

It is a wonderful school. My son really loves going there. Thanks to small class size, the teacher always gives individual attention to kids. Everyday when my son comes home, I check his school work. I am often amazed that his teacher always has specific and clear comments or corrections on his writing, spelling, coloring or other activities. I doubt if a public school would have time to do this. The school offers tons of themed field trips. I am very pleased with the choice we made. Like all private schools, WA asks for donation, but they are never intrusive or make me feel pressured. The teachers and the headmaster are great listners and try their best to accommodate. Teachers are all very dedicated and professional. The only drawback of the school is that it is a bit too small.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
Asian 8% 5%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 Water St
Framingham, MA 01701
Phone: (508) 877-7706

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT