Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mary E Stapleton Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 409 students

We are best known for wonderful teachers!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2013

Stapleton is a good school and the staff is nice. I've had my child tested by their staff and was not diagnosed correctly. I only knew that because I got professional help. It was clear on the report to some one who knew what to look for. Stapleton is more of neighborhood school, the parents and the PTO all live near by and are in clicks. If Stapleton is your neighborhood school its a great choice. If not be prepared to feel unwelcome, play dates will be difficult and if you try to volunteer be ready to feeling uncomfortable. I Know because I tried to volunteer and my requests are always misplaced or I been told they are all set. Who doesn't need volunteers? I've had other parents who don't live near by, ask me about feeling like an outsider at Stapleton , which made me feel better that It wasn't the only one. Just thought you should know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Highly recommend Stapleton !All four of my children have attended....They have great Administration..office staff and teachers..Teachers really care for the children and help them achieve to the best of their ability.They take the time to really help and teach.very friendly and welcoming..Overall just a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

my son has been going to stapleton for 3 years now. when he first started stapleton he needed speech therapy and he still needs it stapleaton school is the best school the teachers are awsome the princpal mr mcdonald is very nice and kind and it is a very well organize school and the teachers are always very happy and you can tell they all like there job I would recomend stapleton to anybody.My son needs alot of patients and help and they got it they got the recomendadtions for us on what we should to at home for him he loves every day going to school he looks forward going to school everyday and the nurse is very concerned also to he has allergies and asthma and they check at the food at the cafteria at what he can he eat. thank you stapleton for being so awsome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Stapleton is a hidden gem. The teachers are so enthusiastic and creative and just seem to love to teach there. They create new programs all the time that go across all subject areas. They just created a new Reading Challenge, where the kids are reading 2011 books, singing songs about reading and dancing to songs about the love of reading. This program is very typical of the extra effort the teachers at Stapleton put in. They are always thinking of creative & fun ways to get the students engaged and help develop their love of learning. Since the school is small, our children get a lot of individualized attention. It is not uncommon to get an email or phonecall from our children's teachers regularly. The teachers encourage volunteers, so I am able to be in the classroom each week. It allows the teachers to do more with every minute of class time, and I feel connected to my children's education (and their friends)! We are so glad we chose Stapleton. We have parents who teach in very wealthy towns nearby whose children could go to those schools, but choose to have their children go to Stapleton because of the diversity and quality of education. That speaks volumes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

We moved to Framingham after the entering Kindergartners had been assigned last year and ended up at Stapleton without having a complete choice of schools. We have been wonderfully surprised and pleased. I have loved our Kindergarten teacher, and 1st grade teacher, love the Principal Mr. McDonald, who seems to know every child by name, and recognizes me as their parent by sight. I am also very happy with the PTO and many wonderful families at the school. Both of my children are reading very well and have great math skills. There are many programs to incentivize good citizenship, and create a great environment at the school. Our whole family loves Stapleton. My younger children can't wait to be in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

My child has been in Stapleton since kindergarten and she is in total love of the school. She constantly sings the school song and relays many earth related messages that she is taught in school. She loves going on the nature trail and has learned many amazing things since being in Stapleton. I wouldn't choose any other school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

As a grandparent of a child needing some extra attention, both the mother and myself have found that the teachers at Stapleton are exceptional at pinpointing a student's needs. Its not a luxury school but a warm inviting friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

As the 'environmental' school in Framingham, Stapleton Elementary School offers students a unique opportunity to learn about science through hands-on experiences in nature and enhanced classroom lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

As a parent of two children at Stapleton, I would highly recommend this school to Framingham parents. We have found the teachers to be exceptional; they are energetic, and seem to really love what they do. There is a great community feel there, with an active PTO and a high level of parental involvement in the classroom. My children have benefited by being (non-special needs students) in the inclusion classes because there are two teachers and an aide in each of those classes. It is an academic luxury to have that many instructors in one class. The library is beautiful, and the Golden Eagle Cafe is one of a kind. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Female40%
Male18%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students48%
Female50%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Female57%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students38%
Female33%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Female66%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students51%
Female56%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students43%
Female44%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 67%
Hispanic 13% 16%
Black 8% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • William F. McDonald
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (508) 877-4908

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Elm St
Framingham, MA 01701
Website: Click here
Phone: (508) 626-9143

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT