Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 2

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Sinking. Ship. The new administration is ineffective and failing at keeping this school thriving. Parents in the last few years have begun (and continue) to pull their kids out and/or not send on their kindergarteners on to bfccps. Although the principal is lovely, she does not have the communication skill set needed for her position - when dealing with parents one or one or as a whole. As another review had stated, the politics are also working against this community. Parents are continually subbing classes or so highly involved in the PCO that it has blurred the lines between the parents and administration. This school is about to grow in a major way as it regionalizes - I know my kids will not be there when that takes place. If it's not working as it is now, it's hard to believe it will get better with three times the students. I am truly disappointed in our experience with this school and it's administrators.

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
My kids love this school very much.This school is a great experience for my kids..


Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 3

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
This school's administration mantra is punish, punish, punish. They do not attempt to educate by example. Penalties are given with the intention of humiliating your child and there is no initiative of working with the parent. Teachers are great, especially in the areas of French, music, history, and English. In the long term, with the school moving to a regional charter school, there are concerns with whether the current administration has the competency and leadership to manage the change.

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 4

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
I'm not sure where the parent got their information regarding technology being basic "most middle schoolers are doing Powerpoint presentations and video reports." My first grader created a Powerpoint presentation on dinosaurs and my second grader created an automated "cartoon" of the water cycle. Lastly, my seventh grader created a video commercial in honor of the Super Bowl. We felt their technology exposure exceeded our expectations

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a community member
BFCCPS is proof that the physical plant does not make the school. My daughter graduated last year, and we could not have been happier there. The teachers were, for the most part, really engaged with the students. The community emphasized character education and responsibility for your own behavior. This was a wonderful experience for our family, and I would encourage other parents to explore this wonderful school.


Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 3

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
I have to agree with the previous comments. The school has dedicated grade level teachers. French which is fantastic and the students are practically fluent by eighth grade. Art and Band are creative and inspiring. The other elective activities are lacking greatly. Physical education is executed very poorly. The first grade students learn the same thing as the eighth grade students with the teachers wasting half of the class on meaningless chatter. Latin education is non existence and a waste of time. Technology education is very basic and most of the students are beyond the curriculum. Students in other middle school are creating ppoint presentations and making video reports. The facilities are grossly outdated. The students lack enough books. Books can't be brought home since two classes share them. The creed "parents are the primary educators" is taken to the extreme, with the administration allowing parents to call too many shots. There has to be a line. Hopefully the school will get their act together with the new head of school.

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 2

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
This school was very strong five years ago but has gone downhill in its quality of teaching and its school environment. The teachers in grades 1 and 3 are excellent. The special ed staff is fantastic. But overall, the school does not manage the school day well, the facilities severely limit the instructional opportunities, and too many of the staff are parents who became chummy with the administration. The Latin program is a joke, and the middle school is sorely neglected. The school aims high with a classical curriculum and the MA state standards, but in reality falls short of the mark.

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
BFCCPS has some of the most dedicated teachers I've met since my children were in school. I attend the programs open to parents and grandparents and I;m always impressed by the enthusiasm exhibited by the students and teachers alike. Parents are very much involved and I think the combination makes this a vibrant combination that motivates their young students. This school deserves to be reognized as a superior learning institution.


Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 0
no rating

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
The school has been a great experience for my two children. The music and Arts program are top notch but the real plus is the the interaction between staff and parents. The school is run by real a great group of administrators and the the teaching staff for the most part is first class.

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School 5

Posted September 27, 2008
- a parent
This Charter School is proof that when parents are involved in the mission of the school, their children excel in their participation and understanding of their studies. I am grateful for the choice I was afforded, to make in the best interest of my children's education, to send them to this public Charter school. They prepare children to be leaders in their communities and to love learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School
201 Main St, Franklin, MA  02038
(508) 541-3434
Last modified Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benjamin Franklin Classical Charter Public School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top