Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Georgetown Middle/High School

Public | 6-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

I hate this school the kids are so mean to me, why does this happen to me WHY!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2014

I am a student here, and I definitely like this school a lot! The teachers really care about you. They challenge and support you when you need it, they make sure you understand what you need to learn. At GMHS your opinion matters, and it s OK to be different, kids are still nice here. Great academic, music, art, sports programs. They make you feel like an actual person and not just some student. I feel lucky to be here, I m happy!


Posted April 7, 2014

GMHS is a wonderful school with dedicated teachers and staff... my kids love it here! Caring environment, everyone is encouraged to work hard, do their best and be themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

The worst school my daughter has ever been to. We moved here for 1 year and that 1 year has been awful for her. Nothing but stuck up little rich girls who like to bullying another girl because she is beautiful and different!! Being a military family and having dealt with a lot of schools, GMS has the worst teachers/principal and staff I have ever come across, hopefully nothing goes on with your kid because good luck getting it resolved. Want a school where your child will get bullied then pick GMS. This school should seriously consider getting a bullying project going on or something because the girls that go there are awful little girls! I will be glad when the school year ends and my daughter is back in a military school. I will NEVER put either of my daughters into a civilian school again!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

I am currently a student at GMHS and I've been here for a couple of years now. I don't find that I hate the school or anything, but I find myself not exactly liking it either. The creativity level in the schools system is very low and I don't find anything here worth while. I'm not sure whether I'lll attend highschool at GMHS. Although the faculty is extremely nice, and the physical appearance of the school is very cheerful.


Posted August 11, 2011

I absolutely hate this school. I am completely unchallenged academically and majority of the teachers have favorites. The teachers don't inspire creativity and I feel that any attempts to do so are done in a very idiotic way. Like making us do a pop-up picture book in ELA Enrichment. I found that to be a waste of time. There is some hope though. The French teacher is amazing, along with the seventh grade History teacher is amazing, along with the sixth grade Geography teacher. But I find that the school has very limited options and kills off creativity. I can't wait to get out of here and go to a private high school. One that actually encourages students to learn and be creative. If you are a parent who rates this school high, ask your kids what this school is really like. I guarantee you that they will agree with me. Oh and did I mention that the principal discourages the starting of ANY new clubs that have to do with academics? Oh and this school is bankrupt, and we came close to being unaccredited.


Posted December 7, 2010

As a student here at Georgetown Middle School, I find myself unchallenged academically. Last year I had a teacher who had OBVIOUS favorites, and most of the other teachers have favorties. I am a very smart, well-behaved student who needs a challenge, yet I find none. Also, this school system represses creativity and will quickly stomp it out if it does not follow the exact curriculum criteria. I find that in some classes, I answer many questions that the teachers didn't know the answer to, and these are general, everyday questions, mind you.


Posted September 27, 2010

The teachers and adminstrators care very deeply about the students and the students treat each other like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

I'm a student here at GMHS and i love this school. The teachers are so nice and they try to make learning fun, so i give them credit. This is the best school I've ever gone to and i love it and i can deff. wait until my senior year ! Sports and extra cirriculars are so fun!! I love GMHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

I'm a student here at the school and i find the teachers at the school are very restrictive of imagination and creativity and only do what the curriculum tells them to do
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

This could be a very good school. There are some excellent teachers, but some classrooms are not academically challenging. In addition, all of the pitfalls of a small school system are glaring in this school: pigeon-holing kids, limited choice of subject teachers, favoritism, teachers and administrators wearing more then one 'hat', and these issues have not been addressed or even identified by the system. Some of the advantages of a small system are there: small classrooms, individual attend, they just do not compensate for the disadvantages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

This is a great school. We moved here a year ago and my daughter has exceled from socially to academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

The middle/high will only tolerate students who are self-directed and I feel they know little about about adolescent psychology and development. So, unless you have a perfectly behaved student who acts nothing like a normal adolescent, you are out of luck. Other than that, the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

This school is great, all the teachers are nice. Although some are a little more difficult then others they basicaly teach me what must be taught while I have lots of fun at the same time. There is very little bullying here also which I love as a 7th grader here at GHMS this school also has a great deal of school spirit for Royals sports. Overall I would rate this school at 10 out of 10 its just great.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female96%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female93%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

78%

Average SAT score

1624

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 67%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 352-5798

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 Winter St
Georgetown, MA 01833
Phone: (978) 352-5790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Hedge School
Groveland, MA




Nettle Middle School
Haverhill, MA


Solstice School
Rowley, MA


Sacred Hearts School
Haverhill, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT