Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ann School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Gloucester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2013

St Ann's is an awesome, affordable school on Cape Ann. The class sizes are average to small and the individual attention is amazing - great learning environment. The teachers are extremely dedicated, often scheduling activities with the kids outside of their normal work day. If you are not satisfied with your child's current school give St. Ann's a try. As well as great teachers and advanced academics, the children are taught to value and respect everyone. My son and daughter are receiving a well rounded high quality education. It is a special place, and I am thrilled to have them at St.. Ann's. I would highly recommend it to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

This school has been a blessing to us, the teachers and staff have been great. This is a extremely small school so the parents and staff are well connected. We didn't know what we were going to do when our local school was rated a 1.4 out of 10 ! The city of Gloucester should be ashamed of themselves. I pay school tax on 2 propertys in this city, and have to pay again to get my daughter a good education. Anyway thank God St. Anns is here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

My son has been at the school for 7yrs now. This school has been excellent. They new principal is fantastic. She truely listens and takes care of needed issues. She is very involved in the school. My sons education there has always been top quality. It is a family orientated place which also teaches core values for the children to not only become highly educated but also become good people. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

The principals that I have experienced at St. Ann School have been unprofessional and completely ineffective. More importantly the Board that oversees them and is supposed to supervise them is out of touch, uneducated, and uninterested. So there is no supervision at all. There are a couple of good teachers there still, but most have been there too long and are not at all curious about new processes in education. There is very little professional development. My children have benefitted little academically. Very displeased with the overall education and now the atmosphere with the new principal is cold and unfriendly. Feel that it has been a waste of our money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

My children are currently enrolled in St. Ann School and I could not be more pleased with the school. The academic program at all levels from pre-k to grade 8 is superior. The small classrooms allow the teachers to have plenty of one on one time with each students. The school also offers a variety of after school programs as well as fun family events. The new principal is a true leader who is adding enthusiasm for academics as well as family atmosphere. I strongly encourage anyone looking for a family orientated school that allows a child to grow and develop in a safe and fun atmosphere while attaining the highest education to consider St. Ann School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

The school principal operates without the necessary supervision and instruction, she is also ineffective in supervising her own teachers - particularly the upper (middle) school teachers. It is frustrating to observe that so many people in this school have been there so long, doing the same things for so long, and there is little interest in change or improvement. The same strategies that worked 20 years ago no longer do in many cases, it is a new world. There are some wonderful teachers there, and some good things happening, but when the negatives outweighed the positives, we left. We wish we'd left sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Great school. Good circulum and family oriented
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

We recently moved to East Gloucester and when I tried to register my child at East Gloucester Elementary we were told 'the class has to many kids already- you will have to go somewhere else' we chose St. Anns. We could not be happier with our choice. The teachers and staff have been wonderful to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

My daughter has attended St. Ann School in Gloucester for 6 years now and she has received an outstanding education. Their class sizes are are reasonable to allow teachers attention to each and every student. The value offered is the best on the North Shore. I would like to see more physical education as the children only have gym once per week but otherwise this is an excellent institution for a child's learning and growth both as a student and as a person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

I have sent three children to this school, and several family members are current or former students. This school has a high academic standard and all of the teachers have been exceptionally professional and caring. Although it is a Catholic school, we are not Catholic; while students do go to Mass occasionally, non-Catholic kids do not partake of the sacraments. The class sizes are extremely small compared to the public school (around 18 students per class) and their is virtually no bullying because the teachers have the ability to be aware of problems or conflicts before they get too large. This school is also very affordable for a private school. When I read about the troubles at the public schools, I'm glad that we made this choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hispanic 6% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Prospect Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone: (978) 283-3455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Veterans Memorial
Gloucester, MA






Faith Christian School
Gloucester, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT