Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ralph B O'maley Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a community member
Absolutely no discipline policy in place. Coddle all the way! Things such as sexual harassment completely ignored.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 1

Posted August 11, 2015
- a community member
The students run the school. There is no discipline, no follow through or consequences. Teachers are not supported and are constantly dis-empowered. They are reprimanded for having high expectations and challenging students, especially in specialists classes and have been told to dumb down lessons. Just last year students were lighting fire in the hallways and carrying weapons to school. The school has dropped to a level 3, on its way to level 4 I'm sure. The "STEAM" element is a joke and just there to get funding. In practice, there is no collaboration between teachers, only "practices" put in place "just in case" evidence is asked for by the state for STEAM practices. If a student is at risk, they will do anything they can to ignore and or push that child's problems under the rug. One guidance counselor is completely useless, the other two try but their hands are tied because the administration would rather ignore student issues. The administration is a complete joke.


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 4

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
My 7th grader is enjoying his experience at O'Maley. His teachers have worked to individualize his experience and challenge him through advance math, additional projects, and even after school explorations such as PhotoShop. This was all done proactively through my son and his teachers' initiatives. The afterschool programs include crosscountry, track, basketball, karate, photography, coding, robotics, knitting, soccer, legos, pottery and more. O'Maley has a great band program with the opportunity of marching as well as jazz band at the high school. The performing arts club creates a spectacular performance each year from set design to stage support to the performing. The quality of the sports offered at O'Maley and in Gloucester for middles schoolers is exceptional. As a parent, I can help to supplement what my kids may need academically. But, I could not offer a better community to my kids then the one I see developing around them as they learn and grow at Gloucester public schools. We moved to Gloucester because we loved its beauty and community. Now our kids are learning in their community, becoming part of that community, and helping that community to grow with them.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 5

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is a 7th Grade Student. She has loved the place since she started. The teachers have been on the ball and on her case whenever necessary. Her grades have been consistently good, and when they have dipped, we have been the first to know and to be involved (by the teachers) in what is going on with her learning. The stories from the old days about bullying, lack of discipline, or 'bad buildings' are no longer true and certainly not appropriate to a truthful and balanced review. The Drama Club, in particular, is a great organization that embraces and involves every single student that wants to participate. Their annual musicals have a been a great success.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a community member
I have been lucky enough to know the school from two perspectives... I was a student there and got a great deal from the personalized care of the teachers. They were instrumental in putting me on a path to success. The mission of the school if to give children opportunities to shine, which has become very prevalent in the attitude they take to support their theater program, the middle school band, and countless other programs such as the MIT robotics program, the middle school track and field team and so many more. It has been a pleasure to see amazing youth developing a wide variety of life skills through their involvement in the school and their outreach into community life.


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 3

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is shy, yet she fit right in at the school. She loves most of her teachers, and especially loves the drama portion.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 4

Posted March 25, 2010
- a student
the o'maley middle school is a very good school the staff is very nice also very supportive. there is very good forms of discipline. the few things that i feel are not good with the school is some of the leaky roofs also the school lunch isn't the best. the other day at lunch part of the tiles fell but besides those 2 minor points O'maley is a very good school

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 3

Posted January 18, 2008
- a student
O'Maley middle school is quite old but all the staff and students are extremly kind. There may not be very many after-school prgrams but the few they have are small class sizes (I'm in German class and there are only six others in the class). All the teachers are very supportive.


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 1

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
This school is preposterous and does not meet any of the states standards! The education quality is appalling and the level of homework kids get each night is not enough if you want your kids to really learn what hard work means. Anything bad you could imagine goes on here! I would definitely not recommend this school to anyone who is hoping for there child to be educated well and in a nice safe environment.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 2

Posted March 27, 2004
- a parent
The lack of discipline at this school is beyond belief. The administrators do not have any sort of policies, nor do they follow a great number of educational laws. The school has lost a great number of excellent, dedicated teachers in the past few years due to the lack of leadership in the administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ralph B O'maley Middle School
32 Cherry Street, Gloucester, MA  01930
(978) 281-9850
Last modified Ralph B O'maley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ralph B O'maley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top