Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
Gloucester, MA

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 4

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
My 7th grader is enjoying his experience at O'Maley. His teachers have worked to individualize his experience and challenge him through advance math, additional projects, and even after school explorations such as PhotoShop. This was all done proactively through my son and his teachers' initiatives. The afterschool programs include crosscountry, track, basketball, karate, photography, coding, robotics, knitting, soccer, legos, pottery and more. O'Maley has a great band program with the opportunity of marching as well as jazz band at the high school. The performing arts club creates a spectacular performance each year from set design to stage support to the performing. The quality of the sports offered at O'Maley and in Gloucester for middles schoolers is exceptional. As a parent, I can help to supplement what my kids may need academically. But, I could not offer a better community to my kids then the one I see developing around them as they learn and grow at Gloucester public schools. We moved to Gloucester because we loved its beauty and community. Now our kids are learning in their community, becoming part of that community, and helping that community to grow with them.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 5

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is a 7th Grade Student. She has loved the place since she started. The teachers have been on the ball and on her case whenever necessary. Her grades have been consistently good, and when they have dipped, we have been the first to know and to be involved (by the teachers) in what is going on with her learning. The stories from the old days about bullying, lack of discipline, or 'bad buildings' are no longer true and certainly not appropriate to a truthful and balanced review. The Drama Club, in particular, is a great organization that embraces and involves every single student that wants to participate. Their annual musicals have a been a great success.


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a community member
I have been lucky enough to know the school from two perspectives... I was a student there and got a great deal from the personalized care of the teachers. They were instrumental in putting me on a path to success. The mission of the school if to give children opportunities to shine, which has become very prevalent in the attitude they take to support their theater program, the middle school band, and countless other programs such as the MIT robotics program, the middle school track and field team and so many more. It has been a pleasure to see amazing youth developing a wide variety of life skills through their involvement in the school and their outreach into community life.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 3

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is shy, yet she fit right in at the school. She loves most of her teachers, and especially loves the drama portion.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 4

Posted March 25, 2010
- a student
the o'maley middle school is a very good school the staff is very nice also very supportive. there is very good forms of discipline. the few things that i feel are not good with the school is some of the leaky roofs also the school lunch isn't the best. the other day at lunch part of the tiles fell but besides those 2 minor points O'maley is a very good school


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 1

Posted December 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 1

Posted November 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 3

Posted January 18, 2008
- a student
O'Maley middle school is quite old but all the staff and students are extremly kind. There may not be very many after-school prgrams but the few they have are small class sizes (I'm in German class and there are only six others in the class). All the teachers are very supportive.


Ralph B O'maley Middle School 1

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
This school is preposterous and does not meet any of the states standards! The education quality is appalling and the level of homework kids get each night is not enough if you want your kids to really learn what hard work means. Anything bad you could imagine goes on here! I would definitely not recommend this school to anyone who is hoping for there child to be educated well and in a nice safe environment.

Ralph B O'maley Middle School 3

Posted February 11, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ralph B O'maley Middle School
32 Cherry St, Gloucester, MA  01930
(978) 281-9850
Last modified Ralph B O'maley Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ralph B O'maley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top