Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Muddy Brook Regional Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 13 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

My family is new to the Muddy Brook community, but we are thrilled that our kindergartner is here and our other two children will be attending. It is an extremely warm, welcoming community and our daughter is extremely happy. Most impressive to me is the constant effort in the school to be improving everything - instruction, outreach, communication - you name it. We are getting incredible information from the teacher, the PTA, and the administration about the school curriculum and learning goals. I feel like I have tremendous input into what is happening in the school, and the Principal and staff are clearly committed to trying new things and involving families in that process. As a parent, I am helping with events, volunteering in the classroom, and working on committees to look at curriculum, assessment, and volunteerism. This is a great school that is constantly striving to be even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

We are huge fans of Muddy Brook and this is our third year with a child in the school. Every year the principal and teachers work to improve the overall curriculum, the student experience as well as reaching out to parents. They are open to new ideas, use creativity and thoughtfulness in their teachings and provide a safe, structured yet flexible environment. I love how they involve the community in projects and how available they are to parents. Our kids are incredibly happy there and there is such a focus on being kind and rewarding good behavior that they haven't had any social issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

The kindness, professionalism and dedication of the teachers, paraprofessionals and administration at Muddy Brook are impressive. Two of my grandsons are Muddy Brook students. I also volunteer at the school, and have been mentored by the teachers to support the students reading comprehension, fluency and accuracy. My admiration for teachers has grown tremendously watching their dedication to the students. The school as a whole is permeated with the culture of kindness. The other day an after school soccer practice was cancelled at the last minute. Consequently one of the boys did not have a ride home. We went to the office with him and the 2 secretaries there made calls to contact his parents and assured me that the student would stay with them in the office until a parent could pick him up. They completely put both the student and me at ease. In this atmosphere, the children learn by example how to treat others. It also creates an environment which allows the children to reach their fullest potential. Thank you Muddy Brook for putting your values in action!


Posted October 27, 2013

Muddy Brook is a great school because it has positively impacted my two children's lives. They each have received 3 additional pre-school learning years due to the integrated learning format for special education students. The teachers at Muddy Brook go the extra mile to provide a well rounded education of physical ed., music and art, as well as gardening, nutrition, and community service. The PTA is exceptional at providing field trips, extra-curricular activities, and community events. My kids are getting a great foundation for their futures at Muddy Brook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Without a doubt, Muddy Brook is a GREAT school! My kids are happy and engaged and so are their friends. The teachers and staff are fantastic and go above and beyond to help every child feel welcome and important while challenging them in creative ways. Muddy Brook teaches to Be Kind, Be Responsible and to Work Hard in everything they do and my children are proud of that. There is an opportunity for every student to shine. The walls have an assortment of student work. The classrooms are inviting and parents are encouraged to be a part of their child s learning. There are all-school gatherings that focus on students successes. All-schools often include singing and are so much fun for everyone. There is wonderful PTA that supports this great school. Because my children go to Muddy Brook, I know they will have solid foundation to succeed academically in the future while being kind and responsible youth. Muddy Brook is truly a GREAT School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

COMMUNITY!!! I currently have children who attend Muddy Brook and from the moment my oldest started school you knew that not only were they learning reading, writing and arithmetic, but they were also learning what it meant to be kind, be responsible and work hard. From earning incentives like 'High Five' tickets from Teachers and staff for doing one or all of those things to having fun 'All School' assemblies with music and activities to celebrating learning. My children love going to school and I hope that never changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

I know that Muddy Brook is a wonderful school because when my second grade son gets off the bus every day I ask him 'How was school?' and he continually answers with a huge smile on his face 'Great!' We couldn't be happier than we are with any teacher or experience he has had at this great regional school, from his teachers going that extra mile to challenge his extra active brain, to understanding what a young boy needs to be successful at school. Thank you Muddy Brook for helping to raise a kind, thoughtful, and brilliant child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful words about the elementary school that my children attend. I have found communication to be great, with teacher who respond very quickly to emails that are sent. Teachers send home reading and math activities that give us an opportunity to work on at home. My children look forward to attending school everyday and I continue to be amazed and the creative activities the teacher/school design. The school has also implemented technology as part of their curriculum. This is an exciting opportunity for our children to learn, practice their skills, and have fun while doing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

As a parent I am enthusiastic about the community created at Muddy Brook. The PTA goes above an beyond to create opportunities to engage families. The wall are bright with positive energy and the teachers are responsive. The school has changed significantly in the past 5 years and we are able to see students growing in their performance. This year the Muddy Brook 4th graders showed the 4th highest growth scores in the state for MCAS scores. My child leaves home excited for each day as a new and exciting opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Muddy Brook is always thinking of new "green" ways to live. They have their own vegetable garden that they supplement their lunches with. Children are encouraged in an after school program to help plant, maintain and harvest the gardens. They have a rain garden that is full of native plants that are self-sufficient. The pre-schoolers and third graders work together to weed the garden weekly. The school building itself is a green building and uses lots of natural light and lighting in the rooms is automatically turned on when someone enters a room and when there is no movement for a time, they shut off by themselves. I am proud to see the many ways that Muddy Brook is helping to save our environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

The sure sign of a great school is that I have three daughters that can't wait to get to the Muddy Brook Regional Elementary School every morning. There is a wonderful community of administrators, teachers, staff, parents and students that makes Muddy Brook a really special place. Not only are my daughters receiving a top notch education, but they also feel cared for, supported and loved by the members of their school community. The administrators, teachers and staff are committed to ensuring that every student reaches their full academic potenial while also developing into kind, caring and responisble young people. Muddy Brook's motto "Be Kind, Be Responsible and Work Hard" really says it all and I could not be more pleased with my daughters' elementary school experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Muddy Brook Elementary is an amazing school complete with amazing teachers and staff. The care and attention toward students and learning is exceptional! Muddy Brook goes above and beyond to make learning fun and to make children feel important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

The are so many great things to say about Muddy Brook! The motto there is "Be Kind, Be Responsible, Work Hard" and it seems like both the children and the staff take that very much to heart. The community is warm and inviting, the children are thriving, and the teachers and administrators are incredible. All of this, plus the facility itself is beautiful. Every child is this country should be fortunate enough to attend a school like this. The energy and enthusiasm at Muddy Brook is palpable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Considering moving to GB next year. i have 4 little ones, and only one school age (so far). Any thoughts on the school system, sports, and community opportunities would be appreciated. thank you!!!!


Posted August 14, 2013

My children have been in this school for over 4 years now. Each teacher they have had goes above and beyond the basics for my child. Very good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

We came to this school after many terrible experiences at another school with a great reputation. My husband was prepared for me to be crying and upset after my first meeting with my son's teachers, as I was each time I had a meeting at his previous school. I wasn't, I was excited and confident and ready to start a whole new way of teaching my son. Now, nearly 4 full school years later, I am still just as happy and excited when I leave the school. My son is doing better then I ever could have expected, EVERY teacher and specialist is worderful, communicative and passionate about what they do. The principal has wonderful energy and great ideas to get the kids learn their school work and also important life lessions. The PTO is amazing. They provide wonderful afterschool programs and creative/educational family events that everyone enjoys. I can't imagine a better place or a better team of people to help teach and raise our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female58%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Title I0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students47%
Female51%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Title I0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Female68%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female56%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 67%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

318 Monumnet Valley Rd
Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone: (413) 644-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eagleton School
Great Barrington, MA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT