Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12 & Ungraded
Public
Hadley, MA

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hopkins Academy 1

Posted July 13, 2011
- a community member
this place is a horrible school where the staff are slow witted and narrow minded. While in hadley I had a 2.5 once i left for a elite private high school i had a 3.75. I think i was the only one from hadley to attend an ivy also.

Hopkins Academy 1

Posted April 20, 2011
- a community member
Hopkins Academy is a school with many problems. To begin, if you are not in the sports program, you are absolutely nobody. Adding to this profound failure, a majority of the teachers (and students) are outstandingly ignorant and arrogant. The student government is completely controlled by the school administration, and is completely pointless as a result of that. Hopkins Academy prides itself on MCAS scores (Because they teach only what is on it, nothing more, usually less), and in recent years, those scores have not been particularly good. Most of the current middle-schoolers plan on attending alternatives to the Hadley school system, and honestly, I can't say that I blame them.


Hopkins Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hopkins Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
The town, teachers and student have made this school the focal point of the community making it a great institution.

Hopkins Academy 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Hopkins Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
Hopkins is what a school should be, a place of leanring and exploration. Our son is excelling in academics after a miserable year in another school system. We have found the teachers really care and strive to help the students reach their potential. The MCAS and SAT scores sum it up, this is a school that achieves what is promised by so many and delivered by so few.

Hopkins Academy 5

Posted January 06, 2009
- a student
I attend Hopkins Academy, and I love it. The academics are great, and the teachers take an active interest in our education. While the school is very small, and even very townie-ish, the students and staff of Hopkins Academy are very welcoming to all people and treat everyone, even if they don't like them, with respect. The school does focus on sports heavily, but not as heavily as other schools such as South Hadley High School or Amherst Regional. The music program is excellent... and there's just so much more. Class of 2013 rules!!

Hopkins Academy 1

Posted November 04, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Hopkins Academy 1

Posted November 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hopkins Academy 3

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hopkins Academy
131 Russell St, Hadley, MA  01035
(413) 584-1106
Last modified Hopkins Academy is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hopkins Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top