Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bradford Christian Academy

Private | 5-12 | 125 students

Our school is best known for our rigorous, college-preparatory academics.

 
 

Living in Haverhill

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Great school -- challenging curriculum; small classrooms. Had the blessing of very good teachers at our past school which we were fond of, so we had a high bar set for what we hoped for here when we arrived, and we have not been disappointed. Strong curriculum, great values, the teachers are inspired, energetic and knowledgeable. Just about every day I noticed a seed sprouting on some idea they have planted in my child's head - making her more aware of the world and the many complexitiies, and we would talk about what she learned. Found BCA teachers and admin receptive to parent input on ideas for different projects, and they welcome parent participation. May have to bone up on math myself this summer in order to be ready to keep up with her when she returns to school in the Fall, but I don't think that's a bad thing. Now in Middle School and can see this as the school we stay with all the way through High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Really good school. Curriculum is really solid. I love that they teach Latin to 5th and 6th graders. The science, math, geography are challenging as well. I like that my child was learning about CPI and global world economies in her 6th grade geography class. The children strive really hard for good grades. The teachers are really strong academically. But they are in equal measure caring and nice. It's definitely a Christian school. You will hear God mentioned and get occasional emails signed off with Blessings. They teach Bible class. I've noticed they also teach respect and understanding for all religions. Re bullying, I've noticed that the BCA teachers stay plugged in and if a child acts inappropriately - they are on it. That is important here because class sizes are small - which is wonderful except small groups can intensify if there are personality conflicts. So I appreciate that the teachers make an effort to be plugged in and to intercede if they see inappropriate behavior. I have no doubt at all that my child is getting a great education at BCA, learning great study habits, has the benefit of good friends and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

We have two children enrolled in this school and will be sending a third soon! The teachers are committed to each child's development spiritually and academically. Our children are encouraged to do their best, whether it be in the art room, on the soccer field, in the classroom, etc, and to do it for God's glory! There are many wonderful families from all over the Merrimack Valley who have chosen BCA and we are so glad to be part of this loving, thriving Christian community! Please take a tour, send your child to shadow for a day, come see one of our games or a play performed by our students. You will see the difference BCA is making in these kids' lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

We love BCA. This is our third year at the school. My daughter is thriving. She is getting an excellant education and she has settled into a great community of friends. The teachers are so supportive of both the student and parents. My daughter has really enjoyed the basketball and theater programs. We are looking forward to the next several years at BCA. The school is growing each year and has plans for expansion into elementary grades next fall. Check it out. You will love it here too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

This school is GREAT! Committed faculty, community atmosphere, and top-notch academics. My nephew is involved in a variety of activities, including student goverment, athletics, and theater. He loves it. Their students have been accepted into a number of prestigious colleges and universities. I've attended a few of their theater productions, and I was blown away by the level of talent and professionalism. A very impressive school.


Posted February 13, 2012

Bradford Christian Academy offers a competitive college preparatory education at competitive costs. We are accredited by both the New England Association of Schools and Colleges and Christian Schools International. Over 70% of our teachers have their master's degrees or higher, and they take a personal interest in their students. We offer regular and honors level courses, and regularly get graduates into competitive colleges. We have award winning theatre and atheletic programs, and a blooming vocal music program. Most importantly, we are a safe, loving community committed to nurturing each studens. Our recent visiting committee from NEASC commented that it was rare to see the sincere warmth and dedication of our students. To the June 18 review, we do accept some students who are a "risk" and help them to become all that they can be, a fact for which we will not apologize. Nonetheless, our annual anonymous survey data shows that the overwhelming majority of our community find our student body as a whole to be exemplary academically, emotionally, and spiritually. Come and visit the school or have your student shadow; you will find we're worthy of your investment!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 23, 2011

Anyone looking for a top notch education in an environment that brings out the best of EVERY child should check this school out. The academic facts speak for themselves. I recommend attending a theatre production or sports event to witness the school community in action. You will be impressed! The faculty goes above and beyond with each student individually. An excellent school in every way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

I agree as we left after one year. Lots of dysfunctional kids and the scholl fails to address the badly behaving ones. We figured there were two types of students, those whose parents did not want their kids with the bad public school kids and the second type were kids who could not make it in the public schools because of their behavior problems. They will do anything to keep students because they need the money.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Hispanic 11% 16%
Black 2% 8%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school private elementary
public elementary
public or private middle school
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Gordon College
University of Massachusetts
various
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Greek and Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 4:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Greek and Hebrew
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
  • wrestling
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
private elementary
public elementary
public or private middle school

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Gordon College
University of Massachusetts
various
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 5%
4 year college - 95%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

97 Oxford Ave
Haverhill, MA 01835
Phone: (978) 373-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tilton
Haverhill, MA



Greenleaf
Haverhill, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT