Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Consentino Middle School

Public | 5-8 & ungraded | 695 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

this may be a great middle school but it is definitely not a good school for the little kids...their "abc" school as they call it. the little kids who take the bus are mixed up with the older kids on the bus and a lot of swearing and bullying goes on, nothing gets done about bullying and you barely get calls home for stuff like that. i am so glad we moved out of this town and district. i have never been more unhappy about an elementary school ever! but this was ridiculous. the little kids also pass through the hall with the older kids and eat lunch with them???? not ok. the other school district we moved to were shocked that they even mix the little kids with the older kids on the bus! the teachers who teach the little kids are under trained and not elementary at all, they have a haverhill cop at the school, that should have said it all to me, and he wants the kids to be afraid of him...arent police supposed to help? very mixed up there and anyone with little kids should NOT send them there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

Consentino is the best middle school in the city. It has an unfair reputation because of where it s located. There are some tough kids who cause problems but the teachers care more about the students at ABC than at any school in the city. The sixth grade teachers rock!


Posted July 15, 2012

I can tell you from experience that teachers and administrators go above and beyond for all students. They stay for extra help in the afternoons, buy incentives with their own money, and always lend an ear to listen or offer advice when social issues impede a student s academic performance. Kids are ABC are the most self-sufficient, tenacious students in the district.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2012

Consentino is just a well constructed school for your kids to go to.. Lots of schools in Haverhill think, "Ohh Consentino is the most ungliest rottenist school ever, have you met the kids that go there?" Ya we might be known for our bad reputation from years back, but over the time we have greatly improved. I am currently a 7th grader at Dr. A.B Consentino and I fully respect all the principals and teachers. It seems like next year I will be in 8th grade and it will be my last. I was on the soccer team, cheerleading team, volleyball team, track team and i participate in honor society, band, chorus, advanced guitar and next year I will be performing in our school band Charged Up!!! All I have to say is you can't judge a school until you've attended it. And CONSENTINO MIDDLE SCHOOL ROCKS!!!!!


Posted February 27, 2011

i LOVE consentino its the best school ever! im a cheerleader there and i absolutly l absolutly LOVE this school!!!<3(:


Posted September 25, 2009

I have been at consentino for three years know its great but this is my last year. The teachers are all great, its the best school ever. I will miss them all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

It has come a long way in the last few years. It is also a school that has a diverse student body.


Posted December 14, 2008

I am currently a 7th grader at Consentno, and i like it. Every school you go to has thoughs kids who screw everything but thats never going to change one bit. I am in the honers society and high Honors every term. The principle is wonderful and the team is also .The teachers at the school are wonderful they are strict and i like it because it keeps disipline in kids. When a teacher tells me to do something i do it.The activities you can do after school are Basketball,Soccer,Discovery club,Volleyball,and cheerleading. Every school is the same because every school has bad kids and good kids. That is what makes the school bad .Its not the teachers its the kids in it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

My daughter attended 6th grade at Consentino. Hopefully, she will not be attending 7th and 8th grade there. The principal and vice principal are non-existent, in that the bad run the school and the rest suffer. There is no active administration to put things in order. Instead, the objective of admin and teachers is to simply keep their heads above the muddy water. There are too many bad apples in that school and the good kids have to face bullying, threats and theft. I wouldn't recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

I went through 7th and 8th grade at Consentino, and let me tell you I enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, some of the teachers are strict, but some students need that type of structure. The school is not as bad as it is said to be. Consentino has a very, very friendly staff, and the principal is more than friendly. The atmosphere in Consentino is great, from the custodians to the office staff. The kids can be rude, but there are a limited number of them. Most of the students in that school are great kids. I loved Consentino, and I go back their every once in a while after my day at Haverhill High School ends, just to drop by and see my old teachers and principal. Consentino is a great school, and I would not have chosen to go any place else.


Posted October 6, 2005

I had the option of a private school for my daughter Alisha however after meeting with the Principle and staff we chose to send her to Consentino. I cannot imagine a better start to 6th grade for her either in grades, socialization, arts, or physical education. The entire staff is wonderful, open to parents 'dropping by' and keep a very close eye over the entire student population. You will not be dissapointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

This is an amazing school. The teachers really go forth to teach the children. The care about the students in a way that no school does. They have amazing teachers, Honors Soceity, and teaching methods.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Female41%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners25%

Math

All Students36%
Female33%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Title I36%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners8%

Science

All Students28%
Female23%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title I28%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female59%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners9%

Math

All Students49%
Female56%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners18%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female71%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I63%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students36%
Female30%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Title I36%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title I68%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students33%
Female35%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students30%
Female28%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Title I30%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 68%
Hispanic 30% 15%
Black 3% 8%
Asian 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 374-3442

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

685 Washington St
Haverhill, MA 01832
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 374-5775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sacred Hearts School
Haverhill, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT