Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Haverhill High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

Some of he teachers do a wonderful job trying to communicate with parents; others prefer to not. The administration will only fulfill their obligations when "under the microscope" by outside auditors, especially when it comes to parent notifications and reports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I am unhappy with the way the school seems to be more concerned with test scores with the state then the children learning stuff they will need to know in the real world. They need to get their priorities straight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

This school doesn't get what scheduling correctly does for students all these mess ups and the motivation of students if staff cant get it right then students give up on trying
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2013

I am extremely impressed with the education my son is receiving at Haverhill High School. He is in the Classical Academy and does about 3-4 hours of homework at night. The teachers are dedicated to learning so much so that for the second summer in a row my son's Latin teacher is meeting him 3 times a week at the library to continue teaching him. High school is what you put into it. You put in nothing and you get nothing. I went to an outstanding public high school and I feel that all but the science labs are equally as good as what I received. I am sure the Classical Academy will prepare my son well for whatever college he decides to attend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I'm a junior at HSS and I love it there. Every school has it's bad kids and teachers that hate their job. HHS has improved a lot, adding Mac laptops for teachers to take home or use in class, mac laptop classroom sets that the students can use in school, computer laps with Mac computers ,an ischool in the building, iPads, a cosmetology room, new smart boards for most of the main classrooms, and a new water bubbler in the cafe that fills up your water bottle for you. Besides all the new improvements HHS has made they have many after school activites that keep some kids out of trouble and help support those in needs. For example Football team, Gay straight alliance, Field hockey, Cheerleading, National junior honor society, and robotics club. Sure sometimes HHS has no idea what's going on, isn't very organized, and has a bad rep but to me HHS is the only school I'd want to graduate from. I'd with out a doubt would recommend this high school to anyone looking for awesome teachers, a sense of school spirit, lots of after school activites, and friends that feel like family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2012

I graduated from HHS in 1990 and I would have been better off skipping those last four years of high school. I did not gain anything nor did I learn anything. I am a combat veteran and also a college graduate. I could not even pass the entrance exam into college after high school. It took 8 years of serving my country and going to college to graduate at the top of my class. This was something that Haverhill High School never would have done for me. I did it myself. So keep on pushing them through haverhill high. You are producing very productive members of society. Glad I saw in myself what haverhill high does not care about.


Posted October 7, 2011

I find this school to be horrific!!! The adminastration has no clue as to what is going on, kids getting harrassed and bullied and nothing is done. I am very ashamed of what this high school has become. And yes all I get is im sorry and that is the end of it what a joke !!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

Middle School builds your kids up... This high school deflates them. A wide inconsistency of teachers. Such a shame as this let's down the whole school. One teacher commented on some kids in her class "they don't come prepared so I don't bother with them. They can sit there as long as they like so i shall just fail them". She had not intention of reaching out or even trying to teach them! Bad attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I wish I could afford to transfer my kids to a private school. I tried to register my kids at Methuen High, but they don't have school of choice. HH is the most unorganized school I ever imagine a school could be. The principals at this school are not aware of what is going on their school. I had two situations with the school and all they said was sorry. I will get that fixed. The end of school year came and I found out nothing was fixed. There is not communication between the principals. One will do something the other is not aware of. The notes in the system are not updated as they should and you just get a 'sorry I though he will take care of that
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

I attended HHS for all four years og high school, and although I did not like the building, i discovered that HHS is a great school if you put the work in. The reason it gets a bad reputation is because many students expect the teachers to learn for them. What the students need to realize is you get out what you put in. Also this school does offer a good selection of AP courses and high level classes that allow people to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

I started attending Haverhill High School this year as a sophomore and I love it. The students are nicer than my last school and there's less pressure to be perfect, ie. if you don't wear all Abercrombie, nobody will care. I'm in mostly honors classes and I feel like I am learning a lot. There are many different clubs, sports, and classes that other high schools in the area don't offer. I didn't think I would like going here because the first time I saw it was on a tour over the summer and it didn't look the greatest, but if you can overlook how it appears, it is a good school. They do have new science labs and bathrooms, and I imagine that more renovations will take place. Also, there are many highly qualified teachers that really care about students, such as Mr. Thakkar who teaches geometry.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

good school offers good advanced placement courses such as the classical academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

I went to haverhill high school for three years until i had to move my senior year. I think this school is great. I don't believe this opinion is a bias one because I hated HHS when I was there. Going to a different school actually opened my eyes and made me realize HHS wasn't as bad as I thought it was. There's diversity in that school. And the teachers..they were awesome. I agree with with others, its not the school's fault kids don't care, it's there parents because they don't care either.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 16, 2006

The school has books. If the parents don't care if the kids use them, the kids often choose to do more entertaining things. Schools are not babysitters, parents need to take responsibility for their children's education. My daughter, not born gifted, is in the 92 percentile for MCAS in Massachusetts as a HHS Junior. The school is not the problem with underachieving students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Do they have books at Haverhill High? The students never come off the bus with books. Usually they are wearing pajamas occationally slippers and most frequently a bathing suit. To say that I am horrified is putting it mildly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

I agree with the first entry.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2004

Haverhill High was the best high school i could have asked for. I don't care what anyone says about its physical problems. It is a quality institution with students' in mind all the time. I love and value the time I spent there, and when I have children I will send them there as well. The staff is one of a kind, and the students are the most genuine people i have met to date.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners13%

Math

All Students70%
Female71%
Male68%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners13%

Science

All Students54%
Female51%
Male57%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners8%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
14%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students58%
Female62%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners7%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

52%

Average SAT score

1470

Graduation rate

71%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 67%
Hispanic 25% 16%
Black 5% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

137 Monument St
Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone: (978) 374-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Teach
Haverhill, MA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT