Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Haverhill, MA
Students enrolled: 1,756

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haverhill High School 2

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
Some of he teachers do a wonderful job trying to communicate with parents; others prefer to not. The administration will only fulfill their obligations when "under the microscope" by outside auditors, especially when it comes to parent notifications and reports.

Haverhill High School 2

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
I am unhappy with the way the school seems to be more concerned with test scores with the state then the children learning stuff they will need to know in the real world. They need to get their priorities straight.


Haverhill High School 3

Posted October 16, 2013
- a student
This school doesn't get what scheduling correctly does for students all these mess ups and the motivation of students if staff cant get it right then students give up on trying

Haverhill High School 4

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
I am extremely impressed with the education my son is receiving at Haverhill High School. He is in the Classical Academy and does about 3-4 hours of homework at night. The teachers are dedicated to learning so much so that for the second summer in a row my son's Latin teacher is meeting him 3 times a week at the library to continue teaching him. High school is what you put into it. You put in nothing and you get nothing. I went to an outstanding public high school and I feel that all but the science labs are equally as good as what I received. I am sure the Classical Academy will prepare my son well for whatever college he decides to attend

Haverhill High School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a student
I'm a junior at HSS and I love it there. Every school has it's bad kids and teachers that hate their job. HHS has improved a lot, adding Mac laptops for teachers to take home or use in class, mac laptop classroom sets that the students can use in school, computer laps with Mac computers ,an ischool in the building, iPads, a cosmetology room, new smart boards for most of the main classrooms, and a new water bubbler in the cafe that fills up your water bottle for you. Besides all the new improvements HHS has made they have many after school activites that keep some kids out of trouble and help support those in needs. For example Football team, Gay straight alliance, Field hockey, Cheerleading, National junior honor society, and robotics club. Sure sometimes HHS has no idea what's going on, isn't very organized, and has a bad rep but to me HHS is the only school I'd want to graduate from. I'd with out a doubt would recommend this high school to anyone looking for awesome teachers, a sense of school spirit, lots of after school activites, and friends that feel like family.


Haverhill High School 1

Posted October 13, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from HHS in 1990 and I would have been better off skipping those last four years of high school. I did not gain anything nor did I learn anything. I am a combat veteran and also a college graduate. I could not even pass the entrance exam into college after high school. It took 8 years of serving my country and going to college to graduate at the top of my class. This was something that Haverhill High School never would have done for me. I did it myself. So keep on pushing them through haverhill high. You are producing very productive members of society. Glad I saw in myself what haverhill high does not care about.

Haverhill High School 1

Posted October 07, 2011
- a parent
I find this school to be horrific!!! The adminastration has no clue as to what is going on, kids getting harrassed and bullied and nothing is done. I am very ashamed of what this high school has become. And yes all I get is im sorry and that is the end of it what a joke !!!!!!!!!
1 person found this helpful

Haverhill High School 1

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Middle School builds your kids up... This high school deflates them. A wide inconsistency of teachers. Such a shame as this let's down the whole school. One teacher commented on some kids in her class "they don't come prepared so I don't bother with them. They can sit there as long as they like so i shall just fail them". She had not intention of reaching out or even trying to teach them! Bad attitude.
1 person found this helpful


Haverhill High School 1

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
I wish I could afford to transfer my kids to a private school. I tried to register my kids at Methuen High, but they don't have school of choice. HH is the most unorganized school I ever imagine a school could be. The principals at this school are not aware of what is going on their school. I had two situations with the school and all they said was sorry. I will get that fixed. The end of school year came and I found out nothing was fixed. There is not communication between the principals. One will do something the other is not aware of. The notes in the system are not updated as they should and you just get a 'sorry I though he will take care of that

Haverhill High School 0
no rating

Posted July 07, 2009
- a student
I attended HHS for all four years og high school, and although I did not like the building, i discovered that HHS is a great school if you put the work in. The reason it gets a bad reputation is because many students expect the teachers to learn for them. What the students need to realize is you get out what you put in. Also this school does offer a good selection of AP courses and high level classes that allow people to succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haverhill High School
137 Monument St, Haverhill, MA  01832
(978) 374-5700
Last modified Haverhill High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haverhill High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top