Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tilton
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
All the faculty are awesome and seem to be passionate about what they do . And have made my son feel welcomed.

Tilton
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Respect should be taught first in the home, if it is not taught in the home the teacher will be fighting a losing battle.


Tilton
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the staff is trained properly to teach these skills I feel that the problem is with what the children are being taught at home.

Tilton 2

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
My family just moved to Haverhill from Illinois, I was so excited that my son would be able to go to school in Mass. I always heard about how great the schools are here. So we found and purchased a home in Haverhill.The school that is assigned to the home happened to be Tilton. So I researched. After reading reviews and seeing academic scores we considered not buying the home so my son would not have to attend Tilton. I was relieved to find out that my son would be able to go to a different school if the Principal of that school allowed. So I called the other school, the principal was so sweet, and said yes my son could attend her school. Long story short, beginning of school year, time to register , and I was told my son couldn't attend the school and he would have to go to Tilton, I was devastated , we have now purchased a home and didn't have a choice. So Tilton it had to be. I can tell you from the outside looking in... the problems with this school stem from the parents. Hands down!! This school is provided with an amazing faculty that everyday are faced with parents that are un able to follow simple rules in simple situations.( i.e.) picking up and dropping off children, the parents seem to do whatever they want disrespecting any type of structure the faculty tries to put in place. I see it everyday when I drop my son off and pick him up, and last night at the Holiday show the way the parents were behaving was astounding. It left me wondering if the parents behaved this way I can bet their children behave that way too. leaving the teachers with a task to not only educate these children academically but have to teach them general respect and human decency. So ... hats off to the principal , teachers , and supporting faculty. This school will remain to be a problem if the parents aren't educated.

Tilton 5

Posted August 06, 2010
- a parent
The Tilton is an awesome school. my son has achieved so much since he started at the school.The staff is great .the principle,vice principle are also great.Activities have been so much fun at the school.The school is old but the staff make it a great school for our kids ..


Tilton 1

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This school is by far an embarrassment for public schools. Yes there are some teachers who are up to par but the office staff lacks the ability to make parents feel comfortable. The school in itself is run down and my children have had health conditions (asthma & bloody noses) ever since attending this facility. I personally believe that this place should be torn down.

Tilton
no rating

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
I dont like this school. They have no extra fun things for kids to do outside the classroom. There are no field trips, and very rarely do they have days where the kids may explore science outside. Its like they sit at a desk and just listen. They dont learn in fun creative ways. There are no computers for lower level grades. Compared to others this is not a good one.

Tilton 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
My kids have both attended this wonderful school. I am happy to be a part of this 'family' and love the teachers and all the staff. It is a very warm and fuzzy school where all parents are always welcome to check on their kids and participate if they are able to. The community is a part of this school and we are proud to be a part of it!


Tilton 5

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
What an excellent school! Older and full of character, Tilton has made these first two years of my daughters schooling extremely memorable. The staff is wonderful, the fund raisers and book fairs are always fun, and the curriculum is great as well. We are in the process of moving to the west coast, and I'll feel very blessed if I find a school like this one for her to go to out there. I HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone and EVERYONE!!! :)

Tilton 5

Posted August 24, 2004
- a parent
This is an excellent school. My son attended from grade k-3. All the teachers are wonderful as well as the principal. I highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tilton
70 Grove Street, Haverhill, MA  01832
(978) 374-3475
Last modified Tilton is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tilton Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top