Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-6 & Ungraded
Public
Holbrook, MA
Students enrolled: 285
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is great! The staff is very caring and they are always available to communicate. The school may not have the latest gadgets but they strive to give the children the best education.

South Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a student
i do not agree at all with any of the previous statements.I,as a sixth grade student as South School feel our educational system is excellent. We may need a but more organization but the South school has many extracerricular programs. such as Civics , which gives the students freedom to debate about things in Holbrook. Explorations, which is after school Math help for C and below students , Music Program, which allows students to practice instraments. We also have many projects in school. like Project Bread, Pennies for Patients & many other giving help. i could go on and on and on and on for hours explaining how wonderful South Elementary School is but for now i will not proceed. All i have to say is Holbrook is excellent & so are the schools. Ecspecially one teacher. Mrs.Mckinney. the South School science teacher! your amazing Mrs.Mckinney!!!!


South Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2005
- a parent
I think Holbrook has one of the worse school systems. My child has been at the school for 3 years, luckily this is his last year. He will be transfering out of the Holbrook school system totally. Each year his teachers get worse and worse, especially at the South School.


South Elementary School 4

Posted October 13, 2005
- a parent
Both my sons have been in the Holbrook schools,1 graduated with honors & the other is currently a student. I have seen alot of changes. The best thing that happened to the South was the hiring of Mr. Bray. He has high expectaions of his teachers and a determination to see that the students recieve the academics they need to improve the MCAS scores. Students recite a 'no taunting pledge' each morning. Bullying is not tolerated. He is highly respected by staff, parents & students. He attends every parent group. He encourages the staff to do after school activities. The inside of the South may be old, but it is clean and orginized. Yes, the high school needs to pull it's act together. And with the taxes we pay, there is no excuse. Credit needs to go where it's due. The South & our kids were given a gift, Mr. Bray.

South Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2005
- a student
I go to the South School myself,in fourth grade,and I think that the academic programs are great,the teachers really work hard to give us quality education.The teachers don't just teach,but they are always there for advice and help w/ personal problems.The extacurricular activities are great,so many to choose from!The music is great,the schools can't afford strings,but the instruments are still great! Parent involvement is decent, and the schools cleanliness is good. I say South School is the model school!

South Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 04, 2005
- a parent
I was very dissapointed to see the shape of the when I recently moved to Holbrook and enrolled my child. Although the teachers and staff were wonderful, it must be hard when working in such a dump( for lack of a better word). I am curious to see where my tax dollars will go in the town of Holbrook because it is obviously apparent they haven't been going towards any of the schools! This town needs to provide a better place for children to learn and a better place for teachers to teach!


South Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2004
- a parent
I may agree w/ S.C. about one thing...that the school is old & needs much updating, but when it comes up for a vote; where are the concerned people then? South does what it has to do. The teachers & principal are wonderful. Mr. 'E' makes the children feel comfortable & is very interested in their education. The teachers I have encountered will stay later than expected to teach, keep you informed about your child, etc. I have seen many schools in many towns w/ no fencing. It would be great safety wise, but again, a cost issue. In this day & age w/ both parents working f/t, it's difficult to get as involved as you'd wish. But Open House at the school was crowded to capcity, Grandparent's Lunch had over 250 people! The building may be crumbling, but the enthusiasm of educators is not!....A.H.

South Elementary School 1

Posted January 28, 2004
- a parent
There is no interest for make this school better, kids and parents are tired to hear that the school does not have money for anything. It is a shame to see the gym; Many teachers should have a review for their behavior towards the students. Parents are not involved in any activities. Performances are in the gym, place that does not motivate the students to perform and show their talents. Art? In a corner of the cafeteria. Computers? What computers classes? The students know a lot more than the teachers. This school does not even have a secure place for the kids to play outside during summer time. The place is totally open with no fences or protection. Parking, parents need to park two or three blocks away, there is not enough parking. Transportation, I would say this is the only good thing this school provides. Drivers are always on time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Elementary School
719 So. Franklin St, Holbrook, MA  02343
(781) 767-0211
Last modified South Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top