Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public
Holyoke, MA
Students enrolled: 392

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at McMahon for 9 years (k-8). I just graduated yesterday and all I can say about this school is that it's the best school in the district. Teachers want you to succeed, the school offers office hours (where you stay after school if you having trouble in any area) for grades 6-8, and the teachers are more than willing to spend their own money if it means to get us a fun project. If you are considering McMahon as a school for your daughter/son do it 100%. It's a great school for people of all ethnicity and all disabilities! McMahon

Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
This school is wonderful considering the funding. The teachers are truly invested in the students and their success and are very willing to work with parents on ways to help students learn.


Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a community member
This school is in serious jeopardy. I can not believe that the State of Massachusetts allows children to be educated in such a school. The school building is in serious disrepair, damaged ceiling tiles, floor tiles, stained windows, moldy cabinets. The classes are overcrowded. There is a high percentage of children with learning disabilities that are not being provided services. Many teachers are in states of serious burn out. Playground equipment is almost non-existent.

Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a teacher
I am a teacher at McMahon School, and know for a fact that students in Grades 3, 4, and 5 have Social Studies on a regular basis. These grades also have field trips that are connected to the Social Studies curriculum.

Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
Great school, love the teachers, vice principle and principle. The entire staff is very welcoming and really care about the kids education. They have taken the time to offer my child extra homework help and are working close with her on her problem areas.


Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
My child is now in sixth grade and has not had a social studies class in several years. Next year there is an MCAS exam on social studies..how are they expected to pass. The Holyoke School system I believe is failing our students and robbing them of a proper education. I have lost faith in the current school committee to correct this problem, and feel it's time for some new people in place with fresh ideas to put Holyoke on the right track.

Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School
75 Kane Rd, Holyoke, MA  01040
(413) 534-2062
Last modified Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lt Elmer J Mcmahon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top