Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boston Renaissance Charter Public School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded | 1100 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hyde Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2009

Both of my children attend the school and as far as acdemics I am very impressed, however the school bus is another story.We as parents had to fight to get a monitor on the bus and in the afternoon it still does not help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

my child has been going her since k1 he is now in 1st grade never had a problem yet my son is learning to read now he does a good job at it he counts by 2,5,10,3 and now he learning how to tell time so far so good only time will tell.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

my been going to school there for four years and been riding the bus. the school is little bit far, if someone live at mattapan or dorchester, it is a long ride other than that it's a safe ride. Nothing happened to him in term of violence. I really like the academical idea how they rate the children behavoir daily. Each color is for a different behavior. for example green for good, yellow for ok but needs some improvement, red is for bad. this kind of structure will let the parents aware how the kids acted in class for the day. I also like the idea on how the parents can participate in parent meeting almost every two months therefore the parents will have an idea what's going on in the school. There are some bad sides but the main thing is that Academically the school is excellent and I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I was being pressured into having my son tested by the school, when all he needed was extra help. This year I pulled him out of this school and put him a school that is doing better academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I know first hand about this school. My child went here for 4 years from k1-2 grade till i pulled the child out. The education in this school was ok. But the violence was crazy. My child got bullied hit and also was sexually assaulted by another class mate.(2nd grade) When I talked to each teacher she had they said it wasnt her fault it was the other kids. They even have security guards pulling children out of classrooms because the teachers can't handle them. mind you these children are no older than 8 when I seen it. There is no outdoors for kids to run around. Gym time was in the class. My child goes to another school now and has had not one problem this year. Bottom line dont send your child here. Too much Violence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

My child has gone to the Boston Renaissance School for 6 years and I must tell you that the school has it's ups and downs, but so doesn't every other school out there. I would like to say that the school has done my child justice .My child gets involved in all acts of the school. My child gets straight A's and that is because I make sure that the school works to help her,it is a huge school and a child could get lost, meaning being just a number. But I believe that it's up to the parent to step up and make not just the child but the whole family part of the school and that way the child well get the best possible education the the school has to offer. I have been out there looking at tons of schools and this one is good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

I was very impressed with the school 4 years ago when my child started in K-1. Over the past two years I have become a little disheartened by the school and some of the teachers and their ability to teach. I feel there is still alot of work that needs to be done and the communication between parents and teachers needs to open a little more. I pay for private transportation to and from school, which I cannot afford, but due to an incident on the bus where my child was placed in danger I had no choice but to hire private transportation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My children go to the Boston Renaissance school. I was much happier with the Bannaker school in Cambridge. I pulled them out for financial reasons. My kids are on the honor role. My main issue is the very unsafe busses that are provided by Boston public schools. Where my children have had to deal with violence sexual misconduct from other students and the bus in general is a safety hazzard from the pandemonium on board the bus alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Female51%
Male40%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners46%

Math

All Students65%
Female70%
Male60%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I65%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Female68%
Male50%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I61%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students37%
Female36%
Male38%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Female63%
Male60%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I61%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students54%
Female55%
Male52%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Title I54%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students27%
Female24%
Male29%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Title I27%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Female64%
Male65%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students57%
Female52%
Male63%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 8%
Hispanic 27% 15%
Asian 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 2%
White 1% 68%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 338-2647

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1415 Hyde Park Ave
Hyde Park, MA 02136
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 357-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT